We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Agreeable Sunday Roast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Steam Packet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Steam Packet Inn to your Saves list
The Steam Packet Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   St Peter's Quay, Totnes, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Totnes B&B and Inns
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Agreeable Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went to the the Steam Packet Inn by chance for lunch on a Sunday. Got there about 12.30pm it being during the cold snap we for a table in the piub as well as free parking. We had the roast beef lunch and can't agree with the previous review about the roast potatoes, our were good. Lots of hot steaming veges and home made gravy with yorkshire pud. We paid £26 for two with a soft drink and large glass of red. Will definetly go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
41
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A beautiful building of character architecture set in the stunning south Devon town of Totnes. Bedroom was lovely, modern boutique style and cozy whilst the wind and rain hammered the ground outside this was a great place to be. Although the bar area with a crackling log fire and great range of drinks was as enjoyable.

We did not get to try the lunch and dinners although the menus looked superb, however the breakfasts were magnificent and kept us full for the day.

Room Tip: Room 1 has good river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at the Steam Packet Inn for ten days in September, and had a wonderful stay. The room was very comfortable and thoughtfully appointed, the pub below was terrific to be able to pop down into, and the staff were all very personable and helpful. Every meal I had there, including the breakfast included for guests, as well as the several dinners I ate in the pub, was excellent. The location on the river is very nice to wake up to, and it is a short and easy walk to the center of town. Overall I was very happy there, and wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We were waiting for the ferry back down to Dartmouth, and espied this place on the opposite quay. We strode round and enjoyed a nice brew in cosy surroundings with free Wi-Fi. Better than kicking your heels in the rain!
Saw that they also did B & B but as it was 3x the cost of the place we were staying in, I don't imagine we will try it any time soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at the SPI two nights with my wife and two kids in the family room, situated at the second floor, with two windows overlooking the river. It’s composed by two spotless rooms, our with a queen size bed, a deck, a large flat tv; children’s room with a bunk bed, a large wardrobe and and a small flat tv. Both are very nicely furnished in a contemporary-marine style. Bath is large with a very large walk-in shower and equipped with Duck products and an hair-dryer. We had Full English breakfast in the pub/restaurant at the ground floor with sausages, bacon, tomatoes, beans, eggs and so on, but also smoked haddock was available and also grapefruit and orange juices, cereals, muesli, strawberry and orange jams, tea and coffee. We had a dinner too and it was delicious with prices around the average of similar inns and pubs. The inn is located a fifteen minutes walk from the railway station, on the river Dart, opposite the quay from which boat cruises to Greenway and Dartmouth depart. It’s a four stars AA rated inn and it absolutely deserves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

What an amazing find! We have just returned from a couple of nights here and are already planning our next trip! The recently refurbished bedrooms are fantastic and the bathroom - wow - I would be proud to have a bathroom like that in my own house. We were in room three; great views over the river, double bed, large flat screen tv, wifi, a great tea tray with fresh milk, we couldn't have wanted for more. The bathroom had a large wet room, massive mirror, fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. It's worth mentioning that room three also has an annex with bunk beds, great if you needed a family room and the kids would even have their own tv!

We sat out on the large patio area enjoying some early evening drinks before moving inside to eat. I chose mussels to start and my wife had scallops; for mains we had pork belly and roasted cod. Every dish was perfect and the fish cooked superbly - this is obviously a chef that knows his stuff. Even the breakfast was cooked and presented beautifully - something that unfortunately seems to be overlooked in many places. Oh, and I haven't mentioned the fantastic coffee, I could go on and on.......

We loved everything about The Steam Packet from the hard working, friendly and very knowledgeable staff to the great location. We will be back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just come back from our second meal here this week. The menu is fantastic, the food wonderfully presented and cooked and the service was fantastic! The Inn is centrally situated right on the river and sports a wonderful view of the passing water traffic. Had dinner on the patio one night and staff very kindly turned on the heaters under the parasoles to keep my sleeping daughter warm. They remembered us tonight and asked about a trip that we had discussed booking. Couldnt ask for more friendly staff. Not visiting would be a great loss!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Steam Packet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steam Packet Inn

Address: St Peter's Quay, Totnes, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steam Packet Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Steam Packet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steam Packet Hotel Totnes
The Steam Packet Inn Totnes, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steam Packet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.