We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Forge at Totnes

The Old Forge at Totnes
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Totnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Forge at Totnes
Save
You added The Old Forge at Totnes to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seymour Place, Totnes TQ9 5AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not recommended!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Parking extremely difficult, room very small and bathroom almost impossibly tiny. Could hardly sit on the loo - the shower was in the way; couldn't shower without banging your arms and no room to towel yourself dry without coming out into the bedroom. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. As mentioned in earlier reviews, this building is 600 years old and some of our rooms are not big. However, although the bathroom in your room is small, the shower is a standard size shower and not an extra small one. If you were unhappy with the room we would have been more than happy to discuss this with you and move you to one of our larger rooms.
I am surprised that you found parking a 'nightmare'. We are one of the few establishments in Totnes that does have its own car park. We have a space for all of our guests vehicles but occasionally have to shuffle around if a guest has a van or a large 4x4. This does not happen often but we make sure no one has to park off the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    12
    14
    7
See reviews for
13
52
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August as we were traveling around Cornwall and Devon. Having read some mixed reviews for the Old Forge we decided to make our own mind up. We weren't disappointed. The room wasnt that big but well appointed with hot drink facilities, TV and a hairdryer in the room and the bathroom was very clean. I have said it in other reviews - you dont need a big bedroom unless your going to spend your holiday in it! That said the gentleman who greeted us, whilst not rude wasnt really the chattiest person in the world! But he was very polite at breakfast. The breakfast we thought was really excellent and the choice was superb - I have read someones review that there was only one prune in the bowl - this also happened when we were there but it was refilled as soon as they saw this. We would stay here again without hesitation and would recommend it to others - however, it is not the place to stay if you want somewhere loud and lively - this is a nice relaxing b & b not a modern loud hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My 2 sisters and I have recently spent a delightful 2 nights at the Old Forge. I have previously stayed there, but my sisters haven't. One sister said it was the BEST B&B she had ever stayed in, absolutely loved it, friendly hosts, delicious breakfasts with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, full english (vegetarian option) or any combination you wish, cosy rooms and a beautiful garden. We could have had a cream tea upon arrival except we wanted to be out exploring Totnes. My other sister loved it as well and wants to come back. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Totnes, this is the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We returned to this lovely and quality accommodation in June for a longer stay after a very enjoyable break earlier this year. Relaxed, comfortable and clean, this is a very beautiful little place to take in the sights of this marvellous little town and to enjoy some much needed peace and tranquillity. We loved the quiet and delightful walled garden and the choices of breakfast and we shall indeed be returning again. The hosts were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. A real pleasure.Thank you again for making this a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms, both were cosy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

To start with the positives the cooked breakfast served in the conservatory was excellent even though only 1 prune sat in the bowl on the self service buffet. Access to the pleasant garden is available to guests and when requesting tea in the garden were told that there was a tray in the bedroom and we could make our own and take it into the garden. The room whilst very clean was very small with old fashioned furnishings, bed was quite comfortable but it did feel as though there was some sort of waterproof mattress protector. The bathroom - they get points for managing to fit a shower, toilet and basin into such a small space. The price £40.50 per person per night - where did the 50p come from!!!

Room Tip: Check size of room before buying
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have discussed your comments and feel that the truth has been stretched somewhat.
Thank you for commenting on the cleanliness of our rooms and the high standard of our breakfast. Our staff and ourselves work hard to keep the hotel at a high standard.
This building is 600 years old and is an old smithy. This is why some of our rooms are small because people were much smaller and a Blacksmith would have had basic accommodation. This has been explained earlier on.
My husband offered you tea in the garden and you turned it down, He then said you could make tea in your room and take it down to the garden later on.
The furniture in the room is new. The chests of drawers were bought last year and are of a high quality. The beds are brand new. We do use mattress protectors and they are covered by a thick fleece for comfort. The protector keeps the mattress clean and is easily changed should accidents occur. It is easy to spill a cup of tea or coffee in bed not to mention other mishaps. I wouldn't sleep in a hotel that didn't use protectors! no matter how many stars it had, knowing what I do!?
We appreciate that the bath room is small but the fittings are again, brand new and of the highest quality. Our showers are some of the best you can get and have never let us down. You can always guarantee a good shower here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at The Old Forge with five friends for three nights from Friday 4th. May. The room I shared was small but well-planned with just enough storage space. The beds were comfortable and the bed linen good quality. It was spotlessly cleaned after we went out each day: no barging in at breakfast time. There was plenty of hot water and the heating was on morning and evening so we were very snug. Breakfasts were excellent. Lots of choice of cold food from the buffet and cooked items cooked to order. Hot coffee was brought round several times. I would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the size of your room. You can expect to be very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I tend to see the positive side in things and am quite easy to please but my experience here was so bad I feel compelled to warn others. The place itself is nice - good location and rooms very small but clean (credit where credit's due) but the owners were unexpectedly rude. On arrival, we rang the bell and after 15 mins, rang again. Afteter 20 mins wait, i phoned to say we'd arrived. The owner marched out and, without saying hello, told us off for not ringing the bell. When we explained we had, he didn't seem to believe us. Rather an odd start! Later, when our room was freezing and we asked for our radiator to be turned on, he told us to use a plug in heater instead. When we came to pay, we were told there was a £5 supplement at the weekend - it does say this in the ts and cs but not on the price listed on the website when you book or by the price listed in the email confirmation. I felt duped and incredibly unwelcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are very sorry that we did not hear the bell. We were certainly not rude to you, just surprised that we hadn't heard it. I, myself the other owner, did not meet either of you so I couldn't have been rude to you!
My husband says he smiled at you when you arrived and explained that he usually never missed the bell.
The weather on the night you arrived was exceptionally bad. The heating was on but we had put an extra heater in the room just in case. When you came to complain we turned the heating up and explained that as well as the small heater there was a fan heater in the room for instant heat which we know you used. We are sorry you felt cold but we instantly rectified the problem and as the weather was unusually cold we feel that your complaint is unreasonable. We went out of our way to help you and sort the problem out.
The room the next morning was like a sauna and my staff had to fling all the windows open to clean it!
We do charge a £5 supplement for a one night stay on fridays and saturdays and this is clearly displayed on our website and the online terms and conditions. If guests make a phone booking it is always explained to them. We have always charged this supplement, it is not a hidden charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Forge at Totnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge at Totnes

Address: Seymour Place, Totnes TQ9 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Forge at Totnes 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Old Forge At Totnes Hotel Totnes
The Old Forge Totnes
The Old Forge At Totnes Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Forge at Totnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.