We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee if you can get a seat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tangerine Tree Cafe

Tangerine Tree Cafe
50 High Street, Totnes, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 73 Restaurants in Totnes
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great coffee if you can get a seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great coffee and cakes with friendly service but often busy (a good sign). I'm a dog lover but sometimes the number of customer's faithful hounds in there is a bit much.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Brent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Totnes staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you're in Totnes then a visit to the Tangerine Tree is obligatory! Food including lunches and cakes or snacks is always good. Busy buzzy vibe with efficient service and good food & drink.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We'd go more often, but hard to find a seat!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

TT is very popular, so much so that we rarely go there as we are unable to find a seat. I still remember the roasted vegetables in yorkshire pudding special I had several years ago (yum!) and I would like to try the falafel which looks good. We finally got a table in October, very pleasant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend and were impressed with the friendliness, ambiance and food. The pricing is reasonable and the food is pretty good, especially the soup which change daily

A nice alternative to some of the other places I normally eat in town

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We did not eat a meal there but I enjoyed a cup of Lapsang tea and my wife had a cappuccino and we both had a great slice of cake from their wide choice. Very relaxing place when your feet ache! One quibble - why close on Mondays?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangerine Tree Cafe also viewed

 
Totnes, Devon
 

Been to Tangerine Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangerine Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.