We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just my sort of food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cranks Restaurant

Cranks Restaurant
Cider Press Centre, Shinners Bridge | Dartington, Totnes, England
01803 862388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 73 Restaurants in Totnes
Restaurant details
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just my sort of food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just about made it in time for lunch on our way home - Only Homity Pie and Cheese/Leek Quiche left but luckily these were just what we wanted, with some delicious salads - curried couscous with herbs, mixed beans, carrot etc. Even the 8 month old had some (and we both wore some home!). Pancakes to follow as it was Shrove Tuesday - traditional lemon and sugar and maple syrup and banana. Delicious looking cakes as well, but we resisted. Just the sort of food I prefer. Good service all round. Access down a couple of steps and a little cramped with the buggy but we managed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Nice healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Called in for salad and snack, all good really.

Family day out - my wife and I, sister and 2 children under 4. Salads all
great with either homity pie or cheese and leak. Went on Shrove Tuesday so we also had lemon and maple & banana pancakes - lovely.

Flat white recommended.

Friendly service - thank you.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very dissappointed and only wanted tea & coffee.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Arrived mid afternoon on a quiet Saturday in February. Plenty of tables free and took a seat near a window. My wife ordered an Earl Grey and for me a skinny latte.. The tea was a very poor example of an Earl Grey producing a very weak brew that looked unappealing and which my wife left virtually untouched. My latte was nice and hot and of good flavour but why should I be satisfied with a mug in which the top third was just froth. At least if it was in a latte glass I would have seen that I was being ripped off.
Would definitely seek an alternative coffee house in future.
On reading this before posting, my wife said it was the worst Earl Grey she had ever had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Vegans very neglected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Have eaten at Cranks for years but the menu rarely changes. Lunches for vegans amounts to jacket potatoes or one other choice with salad. Usually for afters there may be two choices if you are lucky, Venus chocolate cake or date slice. There is no excitement in going to peruse the menu, and they do not do a vegan cream. Called today in mid January and every customer was sitting in a coat as the place was so cold. Will give it a swerve for a while.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Faded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Ok very friendly service and chocolate truffle cake still as good as ever. BUT who on earth purchased those very nasty metal teapots? You know the ones-usually seen at very ghastly cheap cafes. The lids dont close and the tea pours out all over the place and the matching milk jugs are no better. Please for 2014 get some nice stylish teapots. Not that tatty rubbish. Would not have been allowed in the 70s!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranks Restaurant also viewed

 
Kingsbridge, Devon
 

Been to Cranks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranks Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.