We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Walk Restaurant - CLOSED

New Walk Restaurant
1 New Walk | The Plains, Totnes TQ95HA, England
01803 611162
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $24 - $347
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a fantastic venue for my Annual Budget Review over Breakfast
Sue and Maddy front of house where fantastic and the breakfast arrived on cue.The chef made sure it was hot on delivery and well prrsented.Nothing was too much trouble.
Well done Matt,Sue,Maddy and the Chefs

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are very pleased that you and your clients enjoyed your breakfast meeting.
I hope they were as pleased with the chancellors statement!
Many thanks for the review.
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    20
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

With over 20 of us the food was on time, delicious and the staff really helpful. Its a beautiful building too. Good creme brulee, good duck. Would happily return

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and lovely review.
We hope to see you again soon.
Make sure you ask for one of our 10% loyalty cards if you don't have one already.
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been more helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A lovely atmosphere and delicious food. We were very happy to eat here and would come again. Try the duck confit. Great central location

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your great comments.
We are very happy to have had you visit from Exeter.
Hope to see you again soon.
Make sure you sign up for a loyalty card which we will give you 10% of your bill back on.
Kind regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Outstanding, Excellent Venue for a Function”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Last Thursday I attended a post budget business breakfast,
which was held in the dining/ function room.

Matt and his team are to be congratulated on
the professionalism.
Sue the manager , and Maddie were particularly were outstanding,
in their welcome, their service, their professionalism, and
more importantly their smiles.
Much welcome on a freezing morning!

The Full English breakfast was impeccably cooked,
and, and a treat to enjoy.

Anyone considering a function of any kind
should look no further.
New Walk is the top spot in Totnes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for a top rated review.
I am happy to hear you feel the same as I do, that New Walk is a great place for any occasion.
It is really great for all the team to get your feedback.
Regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we enjoy a coffee most days at this excellent bistro and are always impressed by the efficiency of the staff and their very friendly attitude and the quality of service.Sooz the manager deserves a special mention as her professional and courteous manner always guarantee that we enjoy ourselves.Long may THE NEW WALK continue to be one of TOTNES;premier places to dine or just meet friends and enjoy a great coffee in a quiet and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review.
Suz and the team have worked really hard to get New Walk to where it now is,
The Premier Place in Totnes to meet, eat and drink.
And don't worry we plan to be here for a long time to come yet.
Kind regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Walk Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Walk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.