We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Walk Restaurant

New Walk Restaurant
1 New Walk | The Plains, Totnes TQ95HA, England
01803 611162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 73 Restaurants in Totnes
Price range: $25 - $356
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great food, good service, great ambience. Loads of room there and good choice of where to sit. Added bonus when we were there the carnival passed by!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newwalkbrasserie, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review- we are delighted you enjoyed your visit!
We hope to see you again soon,
With best wishes,
Matt Buzzo & New Walk team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    21
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

As a regular at the sister bistro, the Waterside, thought it was time to try New Walk..
It was Tuesday, and so not only Happy Hour all evening,
but it also offered entertainment.

We found a table quite easily in the lounge bar,
wishing to look at the menu and order meals.

However after sometime, we had to ask for the table to be cleared of
the previous occupants glasses etc. even though the restaurant was not that busy!

However on the plus side, our meals arrived promptly,
and we found the Salmon starter and pizza, excellent.

On being presented with our bill, we fortunately checked it
to find that they had added to our bill,
drinks we had paid cash for on our arrival,
in other words we would have been charged twice!!

However the restaurant is well worth a visit,
not only for the Happy Hour and entertainment,
but for the food, that is of the standard we have come to expect from
the two restaurants

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt b, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your honest constructive feedback.
We are not content with 'good' and this will give us all some help to achieve our aim of being the best restaurant & function venue in Totnes.
Next time I hope it will be 'excellent!'
kind regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“strongly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

lovely food, lovely atmosphere, lovely service!!

would recommend trying a meal here. thoroughly enjoyed it

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newwalkbrasserie, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us- thank you for your review!

We hope to serve you again soon,

With kind regards,

Matt Buzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

we had a lovely family meal this sunday evening at new walk, our waitress jess, was great, as was the food, from the bread basket to the chocolate truffles, kids menu is refreshing, real chicken breast and fresh vegtables, my children loved it, as did my partner who had a beautiful local plaice! I enjoyed dessert the best, pannacotta, with juicy berries!
we cant wait to come again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newwalkbrasserie, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your lovely and kind review!
We hope you come again soon, and don't forget to pick up a customer loyalty card when you are next passing.
With kind regards,
Matt Buzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really accomplished cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We held a business lunch here recently and the menu that chef Matt Buzzo devised was superb. Deep fried Risotto balls, chicken and sage wrapped in prosciutto and a perfect pannacotta. Our Italian representative was impressed by the authenticity and quality of the dishes. An essential destination for foodies in the South West.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newwalkbrasserie, Owner at New Walk Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review here- it was an absolute pleasure to have you with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
With warm regards,
Matt & Delphine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Walk Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Walk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Walk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.