We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Seven Stars Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5DD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A thoroughly good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Good location; interesting building; first class staff; good food; and reasonable value. A relaxing stay for business or leisure trips. The hotel manages to combine an ancient building with some good modern touches in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    94
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
43
137
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have tired in recent years of Totnes and its Bohemian, 'Alternative' and rather hippy way of being. It isn't the real world and seems only supported by well-heeled blow-ins from outside Devon who want it as their precious 'hub to be different'. At least in the Royal Seven Stars, classic standards haven't been encroached upon. The food is excellent and the location at the bottom of the main road and adjacent to The Plains is a good meeting place. I hope it doesn't change.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Hotel and that it was a nice retreat from the rest of the town. We will always strive to be better but will always maintain our high standards of food and service. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Cannot fault the facilities, ambience and staff friendliness. I had two meals here and hung out drinking coffee a few times during a stay in Totnes. Efficient, relaxed, friendly staff. Good food. Good coffee and lovely to relax, inside or out. Seemed OK to sit around for as long I liked. Lovely atmosphere, rambling building, clean and airy. The best location for the high street shops and river walks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Many thanks for this lovely review. It is nice to hear you were able to relax and enjoy your time here at the Seven Stars. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

First time at this establishment.

Originally sat outside - which was nice in the sunshine, although a little noisy from the traffic as you are right on one of the main roundabouts into Totnes.

We ended up inside, in the bar area, which was due to inclement weather (although there were awnings to protect customers). Decorated nicely with a lovely quirkiness due to the age of the building. Staff were very friendly and plentiful but strangely the bar service was quite slow. The lunchtime 'rush' had finished as it was around 2 o'clock.

We all decided to have a carvery (priced at £9.95). Nice range of tasty meats, a small selection of vegetables - but all had a nice flavour. There were four of us, and unfortunately the roast potatoes ran out - much to the anger of one of the managers. He did apologise and offered to bring the missing portions to the table. He duly did.

Nice surroundings, nice tasting food - just thought it was a bit pricey.

Will return at some point to try something from the regular menu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We would not usually expect to run out of potatoes during our busy Sunday lunchtimes and although we had some on their way we apologise that they were not out ready for you at the time. We hope you will come back soon and try something off of our new and improved bar menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Went in for lunch which was served promptly by really excellent staff and our gammon steaks cooked to perfection. Lovely crunchy chips and a clean friendly atmosphere combined with reasonable prices will keep us returning time and again. A good, honest service dedicated to its customers. Thank you and well done.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for this glowing review. We are so pleased to hear that you are so happy with the food and service we provide at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton, devon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Over 80 people attended the evening meal. It was Ashburton twinned with Cleder, in Brittany. It's an ideal venue for having a function. The meal was excellent and the staff attentive to our needs. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We are always happy to hear that we can make a night special for a large group. Thank you for the review and we hope you will consider us again for your next big event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I just spent four nights here over a bank holiday weekend which makes things quite a bit livelier than normal. We each had a premium single room overlooking the street and above the bars which made for noisy evenings well past midnight which we tolerated but could have done without. I'm not sure if there are any quiet rooms over a busy weekend...

The hotel is beautifully decorated with all kinds of interesting things to look at on the walls and the three food venues offer great menus and excellent food. We especially enjoyed the fantastic breakfasts in the mornings and had a lovely dinner in the fancy restaurant on our last night which was just wonderful.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful and remembered who we were each time we came and went. The location is very central and convenient to everything. The rooms were comfortable but of course not very modern in some regards like the windows not closing properly. Lovely big bathrooms with a shower and a tub which was a treat. The mattress was a little lumpy but fine. The big deluxe rooms looked fantastic and would definitely be worth a splurge.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for all of the kind words. One of the advantages of being a smaller hotel means that we are able to offer a high standard of service to you as an individual. We hope you will come back and try one of our deluxe rooms for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Seven Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Address: The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Seven Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal 7 Stars Hotel
Royal Seven Stars Totnes
Royal Seven Stars Hotel Totnes, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Seven Stars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.