We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime. Really Torquay's best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Tree Restaurant

Orange Tree Restaurant
14-16 Parkhill Road, Torquay TQ1 2AL, England
+44 1803 213936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 277 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $61
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant within easy walking distance of Torquay harbour, offering modern British-European cuisine using fresh local produce. A single seating policy allows you to relax and enjoy your evening without feeling rushed.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Sublime. Really Torquay's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I am particularly fond of the no mobile phone policy. To eat here is to be properly looked after and fed. I can be a bit fussy but this gives me no reason to complain. Very very few places come close to the Orange Tree. It is excellent with a capital E.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    55
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked in here after reading the comments on Trip adviser! And it didn't disappoint! Beautiful place, first class service and amazing food!! Definitely the best meal of our holiday and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST MEAL I HAVE EVER EATEN!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went to the orange tree for the 1st time and were totally amazed at the restaurant, the staff and the food.
We both agree its the best place we have eaten in and we are planning our next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the best restaurant meals we have ever had. The food, service and ambience made this a truly special night out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Can't really add anything to what I've said before about the Orange Tree. We visit annually and have yet to be disappointed. We usually introduce a new set of friends to the Orange Tree and each time they are suitably impressed. Once you have your table it's yours for the night, and the atmosphere and service tends to be relaxed and lowkey rather than buzzy and brisk - that's supposed to be a compliment! I suppose it's worth mentioning that I'm not sure our 12 year old son fully appreciated the length of time we were there, and he was falling asleep in his chair towards the end.
As always the food was excellent and service friendly and accommodating. There is always a warm welcome at the Orange Tree.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Tree Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Orange Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Tree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.