We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angels

Angels
49 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LP, England
01803 324 477
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 266 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: English, Brasserie, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Angels is a perfect place for Devonshire Cream Tea looking onto the seafront in Babbacombe. Very popular with the locals and recommended to holiday makers.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had cream tea. It was good.
What I liked about this place was the atmosphere. Cozzy and nice to see various pots and tea cups :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    67
    23
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Heavenly Angels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I will kick start this review by saying that we went to Angels somewhat reluctantly because a few years ago we were served the most awful scones we had ever encountered - raw inside. When we asked for them to be baked "a bit more", they were returned to us too hot to handle as they had just emerged from the microwave. So, as I say, we rather gingerly decided to give them a second chance. And are we glad we did! They have certainly upped their game as we were served the most delicious mini cream tea (which I will explain in a moment) with mugs of steaming hot coffee.

Right, that mini cream tea: this is when you opt to have just one scone per person rather than two. As they are sizeable scones (not over-large, but substantial) we thought one would be quite sufficient for each of us. They were served with two kinds of home-made jam (strawberry and raspberry) and a pot of clotted cream. We appreciated the manner in which they were served - the jams and cream were in little coffee cans, how appealing is that? And to have gorgeous home-made jam when so many places serve small pots of a proprietary brand (even if it's a quality jam, it's not as juicy as home-made) or those awful little plastic containers with jelly masquerading as jam.

We so enjoyed our mini cream tea that we returned this morning, for tea and scones (again a mini cream tea) and were delighted when we found the pot contained not tea bags but large-leaf loose tea. The waitress then said that if we needed more hot water for the tea we only needed to ask (having already given us a jug of hot water.) We don't take sugar, but the lidded sugar bowl contained cubes of both brown and white sugar.

Indeed, there is nothing not to like at Angels. The courtyard garden overlooking Babbacombe Downs is an idyllic situation, and inside, the restaurant/tea room is beautifully decorated and well kept. The staff as welcoming and the prices won't break the bank. If you're near Babbacombe, do include Angels on your itinerary. The Angels' scones are now top of our Scones League Table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cream Teas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous ... The best cream teas for miles around ... Great selection of jams and scone flavours too ...

I have tasted the meals here too and can thoroughly recommend the brilliant creations by Mariuz the chef, the staff are friendly and it is dog friendly too.

Great place and it has become a regular haunt ... Can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Simply Devine for a Devon Cream Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Recommended by Torquay Hotel staff so they booked us in for the last sitting and what a treat it was. We had just met friends from San Diego USA who were in Torquay for only 24 hrs and so it was important they experienced a real Devon cream tea and what a treat they had. We were greeted and made welcome. Staff were smiley and efficient. Americans cannot abide poor service and they were impressed. The cream tea was to die for and the pots of real leaf tea was really special . The hotel said Angels were the best in the area and it turned out true so there were no complaints from us and I am sure there will be a few Californians visiting in the future when they make their visits to Torquay. A great all round experience and a 'well done' to the young staff on the day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best cream tea ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

i recommend if you want to go to Angels you book beforehand as it's extremely popular. Wonderful sandwiches and cream teas, probably the best I've ever had. Can't recommend them enough.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angels also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Angels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.