We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay & unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Downs, Babbacombe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Downs, Babbacombe to your Saves list
The Downs, Babbacombe
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   41 - 43 Babbacombe Downs Rd, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay & unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed at The Downs Hotel a few times now & still enjoy returning here, to sit on the balcony & people watch & enjoy the fabulous views is a great .

Tasty breakfasts, a very good choice of jucies, cerals, yogurts, fresh fruit, full english etc etc.

Once again Kate & Ed thank you also to your staff you have a great team.

It is worth paying for parking at the hotel because you can use the the parking permit the hotel gives you on any Torbay council car parks for free - a great saving.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with balcony are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
92
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed on a short break on 22nd July and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was probably one of the best run, friendliest hotels we have stayed in. The room was small but with outstanding views of the bay and the owners provided a dog towel and bowl in readiness.

If you are feeling lazy, order breakfast the night before and they deliver it to your room!!! The breakfast is to die for, absolutely delicious.

The room was clean and beautifully decorated and furnished. The hotel is steeped in history.

Kate, Ed and their staff are the most welcoming group of people you are likely to meet and you just feel at home the minute you arrive.

We will be booking again very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are amazing, don't be put off by the size as you will be on the balcony soakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Third visit and already booked the fourth!
Lovely, friendly owners Kate and Ed are welcoming and helpful, absolutely nothing is too much trouble. Their team of staff are a credit to them particularly Hannah who is a true asset to the business.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated and the sea view is amazing!
I would and already have recommended 'The Downs' to friends and family.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are super, but don't let that put you off the rear facing rooms as they are equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Thank you Kate & Ed for making our short break so enjoyable. Our beautiful room with views over Torbay, lovely home cooked food & never too busy to stop for a chat. Very friendly staff always around to answer any questions about local attractions. A beautiful area to stay with lovely views, restaurants & pubs close by if you want to eat out. Theatre just a very short walk away. Car parking adjoining property. Would'nt hesitate to recommend The Downs to anyone looking for a break in the Torquay area.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the bay, we had room 9. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We chose this Dog Friendly Hotel as our annual holiday with Winston our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel and by good luck picked the best week's weather of the year so far. The bedroom with balcony had all the required facilities and above all a fabulous view of Torbay and as stated in most reviews Ed and Kate are exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts. Due to Winston we had dinner at the hotel for the 7 nights and the food was good but 4 nights would have been better as there are several good restauarants nearby. The breakfasts were exceptionally good.and any overseas visitors who would like to sample an English breakfast at its best the Downs is the hotel for you. Above all Winston thoroughly enjoyed his holiday and recommends all dogs take their owners to the Downs. We shall return.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at The Downs for 5 nights this June and it was lovely. Kate and Edd were lovely and nothing was too much trouble, we had a room with a balcony and a sea view which was lovely and comfortable. The food was very good. We had a excellent time and would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

we had a lovely time at the downs hotel !!The kings size beds were very comfortable and the food was yum thankyou Ed and kate Hopfully be back soon every thing you would need in your room for you and the views are lovely from the balconies and at night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Downs, Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs, Babbacombe

Address: 41 - 43 Babbacombe Downs Rd, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Downs, Babbacombe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNERS of South Devon B&B, Guest House and Inn of the Year for 2013. 4* Silver Visit Britain with Breakfast Award and 4* AA with Dinner & Breakfast Award for 2014. Situated directly above Babbacombe & Oddicombe beaches, we are a fully licensed family run establishment with 12 en-suite guest rooms, 8 have private balconies which enjoy fabulous unobstructed views across Babbacombe Downs and out over Lyme Bay. We welcome families, young and old, couples and singles alike. All rooms have TVs, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and free Wi-Fi access. Our spacious restaurant and lounge bar ensures you have plenty of room. Suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Downs, Babbacombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Downs, Babbacombe Hotel Torquay
The Downs, Babbacombe Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downs, Babbacombe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.