We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legends at Steps

Legends at Steps
1A Fleet Street, Torquay TQ1 1BX, England (Formerly Steps Bistro)
01803 200770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 254 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Steps Bistro has been taken over by Mr & Mrs Gordon McCrindle, formerly of Legends Steak Restaurant on Torwood Street. Re-naming the Bistro to Legends at Steps, they will look forward to welcoming all customers, old & new.Rob, wishes to thank all customers for their custom and support during his time at Steps Bistro.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very busy Friday night, but still nothing was too much trouble!! Excellent food!! Excellent service!! Would defiantly recommend!! Well done legends!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    77
    23
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Shockingly run and ruined a Birthday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very nice food but the management totally ruined our Birthday experience. Very rude managers and I am surprised they have got this far. Couldnt pay by cash and had to seperate food and drinks bill for each person. This led to my girlfriend paying for everyone on her credit card, staying til the end while everyone had to give her the money. By the end of the night everyone had gone and the birthday girl had 5 people left to go out with after. Total let down and never going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo M, joint owner at Legends at Steps, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
let me put the record straight...why on earth we would let anybody they couldn't pay by cash is beyond me! this never ever happened. what did happen however was that your organiser (the birthday girl) was told before the date in question that we would want the party to pay on one bill at the end of the evening. This is simply because if we didnt do this we would have a que of people at the till waiting to pay individually..we have got the space in the restaurant for a flow of 20 people at the bar and this would also disrupt our other customers evening. Also in the past when we did allow this (in our previous restaurant) when it came to the last person paying most of time they would find there was a lot more to pay than they had anticipated as others had forgotten certain things off the bill. we have stopped this happening by asking large groups to work out their own bills and pay one bill at the end of the evening,we are always able to bring the credit card machine over to you and provide you with change for the total bill. as i said your organiser was aware of this. we feel very sad that about the way you felt you were treated on the night, and we did try and communicate with the birthday girl but this lead to a dead end. And quite frankly we didn't not appreciate her telling her guests to leave without paying.
with regards to the food and restaurant we thank you for your comments, just a shame you won't be coming back to enjoy it again.

with regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
english riviera
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fan 40th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Went to Legends @ steps to celebrate our daughters 40th.the service and food were all up to the usual high standard. I discovered the fillet steak in black bean and chilli sauce,fabulous. A great night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The best ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Quite simply the best steak my wife and I have ever had. Recommended to us by our landlord, we decided to give it a go. The establishment is nice and clean the people friendly and the food worth the money, enough said

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Me & my husband went to legends on a weekend to Torquay 8 years ago, a memorable steak that we enjoyed so much we went looking for it on this trip, we found out it had moved to 'the steps' & was still run by the same owners.
We had the 3 course set menu, (£16.95) as we did all those years ago, & i'm happy to say its just as good as we remembered it, the prawn cocktail starter had prawns running all through, not just on the top like I've had in other places, hubby enjoyed his garlic mushrooms too,
The steak was cooked to perfection & melt in the mouth, the caramel apple pie was oh so very delicious.
Service & ambiance was fantastic, i wouldn't hesitate in going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends at Steps also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Legends at Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends at Steps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.