We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality , great tasting food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legends at Steps

Legends at Steps
1A Fleet Street, Torquay TQ1 1BX, England (Formerly Steps Bistro)
01803 200770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 277 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Steps Bistro has been taken over by Mr & Mrs Gordon McCrindle, formerly of Legends Steak Restaurant on Torwood Street. Re-naming the Bistro to Legends at Steps, they will look forward to welcoming all customers, old & new.Rob, wishes to thank all customers for their custom and support during his time at Steps Bistro.
torquay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“good quality , great tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went last saturday , our first visit to Legends in it's new location on the Steps . We left a message to book a table on the answer phone and it was returned .The resturant was nicely decorated , with bright and modern surroundings. Staff as always attentive and polite . We both had steaks , which were cooked as ordered and fresh veg and potatoes served with them . The saute potatoes were fab . All in all a great meal, we will be returning soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    77
    23
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best steak restaurant in Torbay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This little gem of a place is without doubt the best steak restaurant in Torquay. The steaks are really good quality and the portions are very generous served with a wide choice of potatoes which is a nice touch and veg or salad too.

Good range of wines too and reasonably priced.

The atmosphere is lovely, intimate and friendly and the staff are very attentive too. A really great place to eat. We loved it so much we booked for the next night too on our weekend away!

Thank you - we will definitely be back on our next weekend away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Superb Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I managed to get a late reservation for this restaurant with my wife and sister on a Saturday evening and enjoyed a very tasty meal. This small bistro serves simple uncomplicated food from a small but varied menu at reasonable prices. Freshly prepared food is always a plus and the dishes we had were delightfully satisfying. Service was impeccable offering friendly advice when needed and keen to please attitude was refreshing.

The only downside for me was a limited range of wines on offer but this certainly did not detract from a very good meal.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What can I say amazing xxx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose steps for our 1st night out for valentines in 14 years and to say it didn't disappoint would be an understatement - such good service the food amazing - I felt spoilt - the food gorgeous and the drinks not over priced - thank you for a lovely night xxxxx

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
505 helpful votes 505 helpful votes
“A Gem in Torquay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Although hidden just slightly off the main street in Torquay this resturant is a gem of a find. Great atmosphere and superbly cooked food, well presented and inexpensive for what you get. Staff are always pleasant and the nice touch is the chef does come into the resturant to chat with diners.
We have now been there several times either just the two of us or as a large group as and have always been well satisfied with our meals and the promtness of service. Well Done.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends at Steps also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Legends at Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends at Steps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.