We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaints, top class hotel for a 2*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Regina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Regina Hotel to your Saves list
The Regina Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
blackburn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“no complaints, top class hotel for a 2*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I have just spent a week at the Regina Hotel in Torquay on a tour with Alpha Holidays.Prior to our visit i read the reviews of previous holiday makers and was expecting the worst. We had a sea view over the bay, the room was very clean and the food was top class.All the staff were very friendly and i think it must have changed a lot or previous reviewers were hard to please.Well done to all at the Regina.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
14
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

the type you do not wish to remember. Unclean room, fire exit in the bedroom. only moved after coach driver had words with the manager. Food very poor, Good job harvester was across the road. Entertainment not on for the first night. For a valentines weekend there was nothing there, nothing to say it was a special day. To get to the bar you had to go across an alley way with rubbish bins in.
Wow! is all I can say.
Alfa please sell this hotel, or is it a rabbit warren.
In future I would use a different holiday company for any visit to Torquay UK

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Yes the hotel had a lot of corridors and the rooms were small, but we did not need to spend much time in them. Our party of 22 had no complaints about the food, it was good and plenty of it. We found the staff and management very helpful. We noted that not all the guest were elderly, there were a considerable amount of 30+ staying there. All in all I don't think you can knock it for value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

To find our room on the first day,we must have gone on a round tour of all the bedrooms in the Hotel,as it is a maze of corridors (Quote from the Manager, we give you a piece of string or chalk to find your way out) We eventually found a short cut,through 4 fire doors & 4 corridors then Bingo our room.......a very cramped bathroom...scruffy-drab-dingy music room,postage stamp dance floor...view from our bedroom 2 windows was a disaster, a yard with wheelie bins in it & 4 other windows looking into our bedroom so we had to keep our curtains closed...Alfa change your Hotel in Torquay..the best part of our holiday was Joe the driver of our coach he was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Travelled with Apha before, always been satisfied with hotels. The manager himself described this hotel as a "Rabbit Warren", 68 stairs to our room - or short route 40 stairs! Not acceptable without a lift when most of the clients are elderly. Bedroom dark and dingy, bathroom very small and non too clean, had to put bottled water down the toilet to flush! Dining room crowded and too cramped, and on second sitting not always a full menu. If this hotel belongs to Alpha, they need to offload it quick!!!!
Never again....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough.England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

I would not go again,Staff not very nice except dining room staff who were very hard working,reception rubbish,entertainment rubbish, meals rubbish.
Rooms pokey and shower must be the smallest on the market,,good pubs local and good harvesters over the road.
SHAME ON YOU ALFA

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Devon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Great Location - opposite Living Coasts. Room was as expected - basic but beds comfortable. Sea view would be worth paying for. Evening meal was fine - mashed potato was suspect (very runny) so didn't eat any. The rest of the meal was ok. All the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regina Hotel

Address: Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Regina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderfully situated on the harbour side with the principal shops and theatre a short stroll away. Part of the Regina is interesting as the home of the poet Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Relaxing bar lounge, air conditioned restaurant and lively bar with dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Limited parking at the hotel but plenty of commercial parking close by. Lift serves many rooms but the hotel consists of several Georgian and Victorian buildings and there are many changes of level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regina Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.