We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't even go there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Regina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Regina Hotel to your Saves list
The Regina Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“don't even go there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

To find our room on the first day,we must have gone on a round tour of all the bedrooms in the Hotel,as it is a maze of corridors (Quote from the Manager, we give you a piece of string or chalk to find your way out) We eventually found a short cut,through 4 fire doors & 4 corridors then Bingo our room.......a very cramped bathroom...scruffy-drab-dingy music room,postage stamp dance floor...view from our bedroom 2 windows was a disaster, a yard with wheelie bins in it & 4 other windows looking into our bedroom so we had to keep our curtains closed...Alfa change your Hotel in Torquay..the best part of our holiday was Joe the driver of our coach he was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
15
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Travelled with Apha before, always been satisfied with hotels. The manager himself described this hotel as a "Rabbit Warren", 68 stairs to our room - or short route 40 stairs! Not acceptable without a lift when most of the clients are elderly. Bedroom dark and dingy, bathroom very small and non too clean, had to put bottled water down the toilet to flush! Dining room crowded and too cramped, and on second sitting not always a full menu. If this hotel belongs to Alpha, they need to offload it quick!!!!
Never again....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough.England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

I would not go again,Staff not very nice except dining room staff who were very hard working,reception rubbish,entertainment rubbish, meals rubbish.
Rooms pokey and shower must be the smallest on the market,,good pubs local and good harvesters over the road.
SHAME ON YOU ALFA

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Devon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Great Location - opposite Living Coasts. Room was as expected - basic but beds comfortable. Sea view would be worth paying for. Evening meal was fine - mashed potato was suspect (very runny) so didn't eat any. The rest of the meal was ok. All the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Hotel staff were nice but very sombre, rooms very dated, my window would only stay up with the help of a large wooden block, very small, overall the decor is in need of a serious update. The food was awful, instant mash, burnt roast potatoes,, the dining room was very small and there was no room ,we were packed in like sardines, my daughter had to crawl under the table to get out when someone was sitting behind her. The only thing it had going for it was that it was in a good location and there was a nice harverster over the road that served lovely food!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

just enjoyed a break at this hotel. with Alfa travel, the coach trip left something to be desired, but the Hotel was really nice, clean and comfy.
The place is a bit of a warren I found five,differant stair ways to get to the third floor,thankfully there is a lift as well. the food is to a price but nice enough in the main.
The room nice and clean , but no shower in ours only a bath
Room service everyday.
The entertainment was a bit dire and not to my taste.
But plenty of pubs around so no bother there.
I found the staff really helpfull and nice.
It is not the Ritz, but try you will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Went to the Regina Hotel as part of a Alpha Travel holiday.The room was small,dark and dingy and in need of updating.The beds were hard and old and although clean sheets were provided the bed making was only half done each day.The shower was filthy with mould that had not been cleaned in a long time.Meals were adequate and the waiters were quick and pleasant and the dining room clean.The manager was a control freak and came onto the coach to tell us the do's and dont's before we even entered the building.Reception staff were ok but the entertainment was a very poor working men's club style of torture.I recomend you give this hotel a wide berth as there are many better hotels in Torquay.I know they have to operate within a price but the meals although adequate sounded better on the menu than they looked on the plate in fact the whole package was substandard,shame on you Alpha as you do own the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regina Hotel

Address: Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Regina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderfully situated on the harbour side with the principal shops and theatre a short stroll away. Part of the Regina is interesting as the home of the poet Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Relaxing bar lounge, air conditioned restaurant and lively bar with dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Limited parking at the hotel but plenty of commercial parking close by. Lift serves many rooms but the hotel consists of several Georgian and Victorian buildings and there are many changes of level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regina Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.