We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we have had for a long time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 7 Fish Bistro

Number 7 Fish Bistro
Beacon Terrace, Torquay TQ1 2BH, England
44 01803 295055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 248 restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $21 - $66
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Loughborough
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Best meal we have had for a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were staying at the nearby Imperial Hotel, and althought the food there was satisfactory, the service was extremely slow and there was no atmosphere in the restaurant at all. (See separate review)

Despite it being a blustery night, we decided to have a walk to see what other restaurants were available in the vicinity. We were just looking at the menu outside No 7 when a couple stopped and said that they had eaten there the previous night and that we must give it a go! And we are pleased that we did! Most tables were reserved, but the charming waitress found us a table.

Whilst having our apperitif and browsing the menu, the wiatress returned with a tray of fresh fish, explained what they were and the different ways they could be cooked for us. Without any shadow of a doubt, this was the best meal we have had for a very long time.

A good wine list was also available.

We shall definitely return when we are next in Torquay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    445
    53
    18
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

want a treat then this is the place to go great fish dishes that get your taste buds going from king scallops in vermouth to a variety of the best tempura fish ive tasted

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish - worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We love good food, good service and good company. The Number 7 doesn't have any stars, other than the food and the staff who were fantastic. The waiters/waitresses were all English - which is surprising these days, and they were absolutely brilliant. A credit to the place. They knew everything about all subjects, including the wine! Amazing. We overheard the staff saying they had only expected around 12 people - but the restaurant was crammed with triple that plus a queue at the door. This is what happens with excellent establishments - and the staff coped admirably.
The fish was cooked perfectly and we enjoyed every mouthful. The staff worked exceptionally hard - in view of the unexpected numbers - keeping their customers happy. We will be returning, if we can get in the place, which was obviously very very popular.
We think it is value for money, although I see some people think prices are high. When compared to somewhere like Loch Fyne (a chain restaurant) the prices are a little higher, but we felt the quality was superb - second to none. Especially as the fish was some of the freshest you can get (from just around the bay). Fresh fish, cooked perfectly - is worth every penny.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We came across this fish restaurant quite by accident , took a chance and managed to get the last table...what a wonderful find ! Great menu and a terrific selection of daily specials depending on what was caught that day. I had mussels to start and then a plate of three small taster portions of the main dishes....(actually not so small ) fish and chips, salmon with moroccan spices,and a piece of turbot stuffed with prawns with a sauce...absolutely delicious. My partner had clams and then the fleshiest wing of skate he had ever had, I tried his too and they were equally good !
Very buzzy atmosphere with obviously a lot of locals who frequent this place regularly and so would I if I lived nearby. If I was to be picky I'd say the service was a little brusque but the food was more important. We had a fairly pricey bottle of Gavi and the bill ended up around £90 for the two of us..we were happy with that it was worth every penny.
I would not hesitate to recommend eating there and wished we lived nearer !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic - As always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Visiting Brixham, I had to go to No 7 again , and it was as fabulous as ever! Service excellent and the food simply cooked but with such fantastic ingredients we were blown away again... Ended up visiting twice in the week I was down there! Can't wait to eat there again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 7 Fish Bistro also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Number 7 Fish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 7 Fish Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.