We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food Slow Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockfish

Rockfish
20 Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BB, England
+44 1803 212175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 277 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We visited on Tuesday evening and were given a table straight away even though we hadn’t booked. The food was very good. For starters I had the prawn cocktail followed by the Plymouth Haddock, a little overpriced at £12.95 I thought, but it was excellent and the batter was lovely and crisp. My friend had the Dartmouth Smokey and “Torbay Platter” which he said was very good.

The only problem was the service was very slow. From being seated it took nearly 15 minutes just to be offered a drink. There was also quite a wait between courses, we’d been there 1 ¾ hours before we even got the dessert menu!

Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and I would give it another go.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    69
    29
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irthlingborough
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fish & Chips at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Had cod and chips and boy was it good. Lovely white pieces of fish and not greasy batter. Sat opposite facing the harbour or u could sit outside the restaurant/shop. Great value

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good portions but.........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Friendly welcoming staff, tables are quite closely packed together. Good choices on the menu. Tried the cider recommended to have with the fish. Absolutely bang on perfect for a fish meal. The plates when brought to the table made the appetite desire to be fulfilled quickly. What a disappointment. The chips were fine but the batter was overcooked yet the middle of the fish was barely cooked. It was a very busy session and the waiting staff were really earning their wages.
As an ex cook it was clear that the fat was too hot, the cook was trying to cook as quickly as possible, so the batter was overcooked, yet the fish failed to cook properly. A very big let down. We have said we would try it again out of season when they are not so busy, perhaps when the staff are not too busy they may pay more attention to what they are doing. But, only one more chance! The other fish and chip shop just 50 yards away is far superior and more realistically priced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fish good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My mum had regular cod and chips (£9.95) and I had haddock and chips (£12.95) with mushy peas. Whilst it was good I don't think it warranted the high prices. I was a little cross that although it was initially fairly quiet we were put right next to someone else when they could have set us slightly apart.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“August 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Wow!! Without doubt the best fish and chip restaurant I've ever eaten in.

I had lobster in garlic which was delicious, as was the haddock, mackerel and fish fingers which the rest of the family enjoyed. All freshly caught, plus the chips were delicious too, extra portions of chips for free upon request. Lovely ambiance and pleasant staff. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockfish also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Rockfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.