We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Save Saved
You added Abbeyfield Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 97 hotels in Torquay
witney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“two night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a very warm reception,and a full explanation of the facilities. The room was very clean
and the breakfasts were delicious.As a bonus there was a bar for a night cap and off street
parking all of which made for a very enjoyable stay.We would definitely consider visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    25
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
149
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel after reading the positive experiences on TA. However we found the entire experience at this hotel rather unsettling & it felt as though we had stepped back in time, either that or are not familiar with the ' coziness!' (Not) of the B&B experience. Reasons being:
* owner was friendly & VERY enquiring, rather too much so. All entries & exits as a guest appeared to be monitored
* room very small but clean
* shower was like a mist spray
* bed had plastic like synthetic mattress protector on which was hot, made plastic like noises when turning in bed
* allocated table at breakfast
* most limited breakfast time we've ever come across 08.30 to 09.00
* breakfast room.....silence as everyone so VERY closely sat together, individual conversation impossible
* no Wifi in room even though told there was
* no consumption of own alcohol allowed in room' instead must be purchased from owner
If you like this ' close' type of accommodation this hotel would suit, however if you want any sort of privacy or peace and comfort, would not recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeyfield-hotel, Owner at Abbeyfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I have attempted to contact this reviewer to discover exactly when they stayed so as I can properly answer their concerns - sadly they have chosen not to reply.
I cannot find anyone named Scarlett from London that has stayed with us in September or any other month so I must presume that a pseudonym has been used and as such the comments in this review may be less than reliable.
I also find some of the comments to be personel and written in such a way as to be damaging rather than constructive criticism.
I can only remember one couple that stayed in September that appeared less than happy and actually left a day early still owing money for their final nights stay - I really do hope that this review was not borne from that unfortunate incident.
All our previous reviews certainly outweigh the negative views on offer here - I'll let them do the talking - Regards Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, a very warm welcome from Jeff with a cup of tea. The room was very nicely decorated and very clean. Jeff has lots of knowledge of the local area and is very helpful and happy to recommend places to eat etc. Breakfast is very good but is served between 8:30 and 9:00 which might not be great if you would like a lie-in! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely warm welcome with cup of tea on arrival and the attentive service continued throughout our weekend stay. Great local knowledge from owner was useful. The breakfast, although we found it served a little early, was delicious. Everything spotlessly clean and the location was an easy walk to the seafront. Would definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Made us feel really welcome as soon as we arrived offering us tea and coffee, a nice little extra. Jeff very informative of local area, places to visit and places to eat. Room very nice, breakfast really tasty and plenty of choice. What lovely hosts jeff and sandra are nothing to much trouble. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Second time we stayed at the Abbeyfield and still as good as ever. Stayed for just 3 nights in September 2013 and were blessed with good weather. Nice cup of tea on arrival and a warm welcome from Jeff and Sandra. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the location means that a brisk walk to the seafront helps to work off a small part of the delicious breakfast. Planning to complete a hat trick of stays in 2014.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

stayed at Abbeyfield for 3 nights 23rd/26th September in junior suite, was made to feel at home as soon as we arrived, room very welcoming bed superb great nights sleep,breakfast was great with wide choice of cerial, fruit as well as a great full cooked breakfast that set us up for a full day of exploring the sites Jeff had recommended, attention to detail is that added touch that makes the Abbeyfield the place to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 7 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeyfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.