We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Park Guest House

Save Saved
You added Avenue Park Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avenue Park Guest House
3 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After reading great reviews we booked Room 5, this room is super, there was nothing we could fault, We are full of prasie for Sandra and her Husband and their super Guest House, they really are friendly nothing was too much trouble, you will want for nothing staying here, the breakfasts were great we were spoilt for choice, the entire house is spotless warm and very comfortable, The decor in room 5 was super I fell in love with the chandelier and the french style painted furniture, my only regret was..... "i didnt take a large enough suitcase to smuggle the chandelier and furniture home with me"!!! julie and Dave :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
162
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent place to stay good area and the host Sandra and her family made us welcome breakfast very good room was very clean bed was comfortable :-).
Defiantly stay there again ... There was lots to do places to go Sandra showed us on the map and was very helpfull
Jo and Russell :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I chose this guest house after seeing other excellent reviews on this web site and we were not disappointed. We received a very warm greeting on arrival and shown to our well appointed and spotlessly clean room. Although the smallest in the establishment it was more than adequate with an extremely comfortable bed and tasteful decor. ( but we could not see the sea, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon or wildebeasts from the window !) My wife is gluten free but this was not an issue, our host having both suitable bread and sausages so she could enjoy a full English breakfast in style. We were also very impressed with the attention to detail such as the availability of fresh milk to take up to the room for hot drinks, decaf tea bags and even a gluten free biscuit. This guest house exceeded our expectations and we have no hesitation in recommending it. We intend to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

stayed for 3 nights ,breakfast was superb and plenty of it.room was very clean and comfy,nicely decorated. the bed was the best we have slept in for ages, better than ours;;; will be getting 1 asap.hosts were very friendly and helpfull.....will be going back and recommend to others.

Room Tip: room 3 .large room and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a lovely week in August with family, Avenue park is a perfect place to stay in Torquay, we booked three rooms and was very pleased, very comfy beds and nice decor. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Spent five nights here, will certainly return and recommend to others. Exceptionally high standard of cleanliness and comfort throughout. Breakfast was consistently delicious with attention to detail and personal requirements. The bed, linen and furnishings were high spec and very comfortable --- the hosts were welcoming and friendly which added to the convivial atmosphere. As for entertainment and attractions the location was brilliant, we didn't use the car very often --- plenty of buses, trains and boats within easy reach, we didn't want to go home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales united kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

we have just returned having spent four nights at the Avenue Park guest house in Torquay Devon, this was our first experience of staying in a guest house, and we were very pleased with our choice. The location was very good about fifteen minutes walk from the sea front.The Premier twin room was of contemporary design,with the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in.The bed linen and room furnishings were spotless,as was the bathroom. The dining room again was spotless and brightly designed. Breakfast was of a very high standard with an assortment of cereals and seasonal fresh fruit.The full English breakfast was cooked to order.Altogether a very enjoyable stay. Denise and Andrew Phillips from South Wales

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Park Guest House

Address: 3 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious B&B 5 minutes walk from sea front and beach. Individually styled Premier,Superior and De-Luxe en-suite rooms with views over parkland and garden, luxury king size beds and soft seating, free WiFi access in all rooms complimentary hot drinks tray and toiletries, Hairdryer, DVD/Freeview TV. Delicious Breakfasts, continental and English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Avenue Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Park Guest House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Park Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.