We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mariners Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mariners Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 Belgrave Rd, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Utter perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Myself and my partner booked 2 nights here quite last minute and can honestly say it was the best accomodation we have experienced. The quality is not reflected in the budget price as you get so much more than you expect for almost half the price of the travellodge/premier inn. The hosts were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, we were greeted on arrival, given our keys and allowed to check in early as the room was ready. Parking is limited, but this seems to be the case with alot of accomodation in this area. The bedroom was immaculate, tastefully decorated and with all the usual amenities, tea and coffee, fluffy towels, flat screen tv etc. The whole house is just a delight with little touches everywhere, including music softly playing in the dining room which I think is wonderful when sat in a room full of a strangers. Breakfast was gorgeous, everything cooked to perfection and they are willing to adjust to your needs. The stroll to the beach is only 5-10 mins and the land train stops just round the corner. I loved the feel of this place and how it was decorated, it is really modern, fresh and tasteful and felt very homely. We also appreciated the discount vouchers and recommendations of eateries that received from Roger, I cannot recommend this place highly enough and will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst visiting friends. We arrived an hour early but received a warm welcome by the hosts and allowed to check in. The guest house is ideally situated near the sea front. The room was spotless and the breakfast excellent - we had a selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, various fruit juices accompanied by a delicious full English breakfast. The Mariners Guest House is excellent value for money and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed at the mariners guest house after having an evening out in torquay.I have to say how clean the place was. The rooms were immaculate, modern and lovely and warm.Breakfast was fresh and delicious.Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts.The beds were so comfortable, we didnt want to get up!!! We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It had been 25 years since our honeymoon to torquay what a pleasent suprise on our return visit the harbour is very pretty and looks lovily at night. we went on an open top bus and got a ferry back to torquay the resturants are busy and the two we ate in were good,one was called regards.he boarding house was about 15 minutes walk to harbour parking may be a problem as it is first come gets a small spot. however the breakfast was pleantifull and the house was lovily and clean the owner was friendly and helpful we were lucky with the weather as we had no rain!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked the Mariners Guest House, Torquay at last minute for a week , only 1 room left a front small double, a little cramped but quite adequate with small onsuite.good location to town and sea front, 3 - 4 mins at most, ideal for most bus routes, bus stop only 50mtrs.Arrived at 1pm and found parking space at rear of premesis, although a little early to book in, ( 2pm stated on booking) we were given a warm welcome and told that our room was ready and could book in there and then.We were given our own keys to room and front door, no restrictions as to times in or out, pointed to where dinning room was and shown our room. Plenty of tea and coffee facilities replenished every day, fresh towels every day and shampoo and shower wash, plus nice hand wash, even fresh plastic glasses for mouth rinse each day. Comfortable bed and flaf screen tv with remote, room decorated to a good standard as was the rest of the guest house and spotlessly clean.Roger Nigel own and run it in a very friendly manor, nothing too much trouble and very obliging as to what you want for breakfast, all of which was done to perfection, plus every type of cereal , fresh fruit and yogurts and juices all of which were top branded.They were very helpfull of places to visit and how far and how to get there. Lots of little nice touches about the place than what i was expecting, some you wouldn't get in a more expensive hotel never mind a small guest house with 8 accomodation rooms. The only down side to a lovely stay was, being on a busy main road there was a lot of traffic noise until early hours of morning, so if you are a light sleeper wear some ear plugs, apart from that , well done boys and keep up the good work, would definately recomend this guest house to anyone looking for a nice cheap b&b.

Room Tip: Ask for larger doubles as small front double is a little cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked the Mariners Guesthouse for a three day business trip based on customer reviews and we were not disappointed.
The location is excellent, within a short distance of the town and the sea front. My wife came with me and she was able to walk to the shops etc during the day to pass the time away! The pub which is 50 yards away from Mariners serves real ale and very good evening meals, and the Indian restaurant across the road is one of the best I've ever eaten in with very good service and value!
Breakfast at Mariners is plentiful and would keep you going all day.
The only negative comment worth making is that rooms 1 and 2 are at the front of the hotel which is on a busy road, and they are very, very noisy! Double glazing would sort that as otherwise, the room was comfortable, cleaned each day, fresh towels daily and the resident proprietors are very friendly and helpful. Would we stay again and recommend to others....Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

If you want , a lovley guest house you need to book here .we were welcomed and our luggage was taken to our rooms. We were given information about the local area and discount vouchers ! The rooms were immaculate and cleaned on a daily basis to high standard ! The breakfast was lovley there is ample choice , they also catered for younger children such as offering frosties and co-co pops ect.. Witch went down well with my little boy ! The last day of my stay it was my birthday and the owners made me a birthday cake , which reflected their kind and friendly personalities .a great guest house I definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariners Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Guesthouse

Address: 35 Belgrave Rd, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariners Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mariners B&B and Guest House Accommodation in Torquay, Devon.Graded 4 star Guest House Accommodation awarded by the AA. Situated in the heart of the ‘English Rivera’, The Mariners is a friendly, centrally located guest house offering B&B (bed and breakfast) accommodation in Torquay, Devon. The Rivera International Conference & Leisure Centre, Town Centre, sea front, beaches and restaurants are only a short distance from the guest house.Our aim is to make your stay with us a memorable one so whether you are looking for a holiday or short break, business or leisure, you will find the Mariners guest house to be an ideal choice for your B&B (bed and breakfast) accommodation in Torquay, Devon.The English Rivera offers something for everyone with a wide selection of beaches, attractions and shops to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mariners Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Guesthouse Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.