We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor House (Guest House)

Save Saved
You added Grosvenor House (Guest House) to your Saves list
Grosvenor House (Guest House)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grosvenor House (Guest House)
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very welcoming stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We found the hotel was only 10 mins walk from the train station which was a great start and when we got to the hotel we were welcomed at once and then shown to our room. The room was clean and tidy with an en-suite and the size really was perfect for us. Once we put suitcases out of the way we went to check out the local area and found that everything really was just on the doorstep (without being so close that it was noisey in any way) Once back at hotel we were welcomed back and able to sit in the bar with a nice drink and relax before bed. Once up at breakfast we were greeted downstairs and got to choose from a large selection of very tasty breakfast options that were always very delicious,then we were ready to start the day,it was always lovely to come back after an action packed day to find that room had been cleaned for you aswell. Overall Torquay was full of lovely things to do and very nice friendly people and it was made extra special by the brilliant hotel we stayed at made so welcoming by Nigel and Angela, We definately wont think twice about where to stay when we come back to Torquay and are actually looking forward to seeing them again. Thankyou.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We spent 2 nights at Grosvenor House in July 2010. Facilities were more than adequate and the B&B was very clean. Breakfasts were great and Nigel & Angela were very friendly and welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

This was a 4 star aa rated hotel,how the aa approved this i would never know it was more like a 2 star, the towels in the room were not changed once in the week we were there.
And we had one evening meal at eighteen pound each which was soup or juice,pie or fish(which was only enough for a child) frozen veg end potatoes then ice cream or tin fruit followed by coffee would you have more than one evening meal there we did'nt, and breakfast when you asked for extra toast or tea they were not very happy,once i had poached egg on toast they give two eggs with one round of toast so i asked for two toast one for each egg you would think i had asked for gold,
In fact we came away a day early and headed up to blackpool , I have not been to Torquey for over twenty years and was looking forward to it,but it was spoilt by this,also it
says nothing in there advert that there hotel is up a very steep hill which i think you should know.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Adequate off-road private parking immediately adjacent to the Hotel & easily accessible at any time during our stay. Freshly decorated to a high standard both internally and externally with double glazing throughout. Informal friendly atmosphere providing high levels of service at all times from the hosts Agela & Nigel. Hearty & varied menu ensured a variety of choices were available and nothing being too much trouble. Super location fairly close to the sea front and near to Torre Abbey. Bar available together with choice of evening meals if required.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

booked a 3 night break, we were made very welcome, our delux 6 foot bed was a dream we slept so well, food and hotel well presented, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed for one night at this guest house with husband and son. Good size room although in need of updating big time!!! Old beds with honey pine headboards and chintzy curtains. Couldnt sleep at all on terrible cheap mattress! Room had a musty smell to it. We wanted to experience a b&b after many years of staying in hotels..........wouldnt stay in a b&b again!!!
Although owners seemed friendly didnt stay long enough to comment.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

After looking at the Grand and not being at all impressed we were advised to try the Grovesnor, we were told that Nigel and his team were doing great things there since they took over in the spring, we were not dissapointed, the room was spacoius and clean, the staff were friendly and the food was good. We haven't been to Torquay for 40years but will go back and stay at the Grosvenor again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grosvenor House (Guest House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House (Guest House)

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor House (Guest House) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House is situated in a quiet but central location of Torquay, just behind the newly restored Torre Abbey, in the stunning English Riviera on the beautiful South Devon coast. From all the other Torquay Hotels, guest houses and Torquay Bed & Breakfast accommodation we must be in one of the best positions as a base to see Torquay and the English Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grosvenor House (Guest House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor House (Guest House) Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor House (Guest House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.