We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abingdon Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abingdon Guest House to your Saves list
Abingdon Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   104 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Southampton
2 reviews
“What a wonderful break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent New Year at the wonderful Abingdon House. Andrew, Janet and Catherine really made us feel at home in a wonderful setting. The rooms were spacious, immaculate and very comfortable, we will definitely be returning ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew c, Owner at Abingdon Guest House, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
What a fab time over New Year. It was great looking after you all. Such un !!! See you all again very soon and thanks for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Returned for a late break after having a wonderful stay in June. You are greeted very warmly and that nothing is too much trouble. Janet &Andrew go out of their way to make you feel at home. The home cooking is a feature that alone would make you want to return again. Looking forward to next year already.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew c, Owner at Abingdon Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks for the really ice comments. It was fab seeing you again and we are so pleased to have been of service and to have shared a few good laughs with you during your stay !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent our late summer holiday at Abingdon House after having a lovely nine days back in June. From when you step into the door until you say goodbye, our holiday was great. Good hosts with great food comfortable accomodation, immaculate rooms, comfy bed, Nothing too much trouble. Not Ceoliacs ourselves but have a friend who is and says he is in Ceoliac heaven when staying at Abingdon House. Needless to say, we have booked for next year !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Andrew, Janet and Catherine made you feel extremely welcome as soon as you walked through the door. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The cooked meals were exceptional and there was plenty of choice.

We will be returning again and have already made a booking for next September. We thoroughly recommend this guest house and its superb hosts.

Hon C V H and Mrs L Plant

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew c, Owner at Abingdon Guest House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. It was lovely looking after you both and look forward to seeing you again next year. Enjoy the Grandchildren!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently stayed with Janet,Andrew and Catherine at the Abingdon House Hotel Torquay for our family holiday. What a wonderful time we had.Nothing was too much trouble,from tea and cake on arrival, to the first of our superb evening meals,an option well worth taking! Andrew is a marvellous chef and Janet's puddings (with homegrown fruit) are to die for!
The rooms are of an exceptional standard, with flat screen TVs,complimentary tea,coffee and biscuits and even a chocolate each day.
Janet and Andrew are a mine of information about Torquay and the local area. A lovely day out recommended by them, was a bus trip to Shaldon, a lovely village, then the ferry across to Teignmouth.
This is not the first time we have stayed with Janet and Andrew, although the first time at Abingdon House, which they have just taken over this year, but it certainly won't be the last.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just had a wonderful 10 day holiday down in Torquay staying with Janet and Andrew.You are made to feel welcome as soon as you walk in the door with a cup of tea and a slice of home made cake.Both Andrew and Janet were exceptional hosts. The rooms were an excellent standard and very comfortable.What can i say about the food.....the food was out of this world some of the best we have ever had.Nothing was too much trouble for them.They gave us good advice on where to go and what sights to see,going to Berry Head and sitting on the cliff top with fantastic views was one of my favourite.Their daughter Catherine was also on hand to help out,she is such a lovely girl and a credit to her parents.We had such a great holiday we have booked to go stay with them again next year and we cant wait. From Yvonne and Stewart w.

Room Tip: Just up the road from sea front, a nice walk to front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our first time at Abingdon house, and from our experience it certainly won't be the last. Andrew, Janet and daughter Catherine were first class hosts and the accommodation was excellent. The food was of an exceptionally high standard ,more akin to what you might expect at a 5 star hotel, and they are more than happy to adjust the menu to particular dietary requirements, especially coeliacs. All in all we can't recommend the Abingdon house highly enough, so much so we have already booked to go back again next year!!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abingdon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon Guest House

Address: 104 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abingdon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Abingdon House...4 Star Guest House with the Special Silver Award Accreditation with a Entire Property Re-furbishment 2012/13. Janet & Andrew Caunter, have been looking after their guests in Torquay since 1998 with their Personal Service, Wonderful extensive British Cooking for both Evening Meals and Breakfasts. (Gluten Free too for Coeliac's ), Homely Atmosphere, Beautifully Furnished En-suite Accommodation, Ample Car Parking, Guest Lounge & Free Wifi. Abingdon House is ideally situated within the traditional holiday accommodation area. A short level walk will take you to Torre Abbey Gardens, Bus Stops to centre of town, Riviera Centre and Seafront Promenade. Ideal for exploring South Devon. Wonderful Evening Meals are served each evening by your Chef Proprietor's with the option for to bring your own wine, spirits, beers & lagers which we will serve free of charge during the Evening Meal Service. The Bed, Breakfast & Evening Meal is our most popular Option( Gluten Free full choice menus also available). Our Yummy Evening Meals, extensive choice for Breakfasts, Brand New Bedrooms & Bathrooms, Service and those "Little Extra Touches", ensure that the Abingdon will provide you with you all your needs and ensure you feel welcome and have a most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abingdon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon Guest House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abingdon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.