We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coppice
Save
You added The Coppice to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My Mum, Uncle, Me and my Guide Dog have just returned from another fantastic Christmas break at The Coppice. Syd, Jenny and their staff worked extremely hard, and seemingly non-stop to provide a great Christmas getaway. The break was made extra special by the little touches such as the tins of sweets and biscuits placed in each room, a Christmas gift from the hotel delivered by Santa to our breakfast tables and daily afternoon tea and cakes. Food was plentiful and of good quality. We are all completely stuffed and I'm not sure I need to eat again until the new year! The hotel is spotlessly clean. Rooms are warm and beds are comfortable with plenty of pillows and fresh bedding and copious amounts of tea, coffee and milk.
Even after the awful storms on the Monday night the grounds were being tidied and cleared of debris on Christmas Eve morning, and during the heavy rain and winds the owners were constantly checking for any leaks or damage This demonstrates the hotel has owners with a passion for their business and a caring attitude towards their guests.
I'm a former hotelier myself and having an extensive knowledge of the business I'm very hard to please. I'm happy to return to The Coppice time and time again, and I'm sure you will be too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    45
    14
    12
    2
See reviews for
45
111
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This 4 day Christmas break with Jenny, Syd and their friendly hard working team was what can only be descibed as a fantastic experience. After battling through floods and gale force winds to get there, it was great to have the warm greeting we had, as usual. We were shown to our clean,cosy room where a complimentary tin of chocolates and another of biscuits awaited us. More gifts on the Christmas breakfast table for all guests were given and the 5 course meals over the whole break were excellent and served with a smile, on time with no wait between courses. The enertainment on offer every night appealed to all of us, most nights 2 acts kept us happy until late. The staff are workacholics making sure everything is spot on. Extra tea breaks were laid on in the afternoon with cake and good conversation was just one of a number of little additional things that made us feel much valued as their guests. All too soon we were having to say goodbye, so happy to have been part of the special Coppice festive experience. Thank you Jenny and Syd. Can't wait to return in the New year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at The Coppice, along with my wife and 40 + friends. From the moment we arrived we were greeted and made welcome by Jenny & Syd. Could not fault the hosts, the staff, the hotel in general. Food superb, rooms spot on, service next to none. We will be back next spring, looking forward to seeing Syd, Jen and the staff. Billy & Jenny Oz ( Karaoke ) ! ,

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from a 5day break with Just Go Tours. We arrived at the hotel after a good journey down there. Jenny came onto the coach and welcomed us to her hotel. The cases were unloaded from the coach but after booking in we fetched our own cases. Booking in was quite quick and we were given a room with a walk in shower as requested. It was a lovely large room overlooking the front of the hotel and had a double bed and a single bed in it. There was a double wardrobe with plenty of hangers and furniture with drawers in. The carpet, curtains, beds and bedding all looked new and the beds and pillows were really comfy. We never heard a sound all night, so quiet. The towels were changed every day and there was enough tea and coffee to keep us going all week. The hotel was spotlessly clean.
The food was good with a choice for dinner. We selected a table to sit at on our first night and we kept that table for the 5 days we were there. The ladies that waited on us were very nice, always had a smile for us and didnt keep us waiting for any of the courses. The only thing I thought was odd, coffee and tea were served at the bar after dinner at a charge of £1, did not see many drinking it (as we had more than enough in the room).
There was entertainment on for 3 out of the 4 nights we were there. The best night was when
Wayne Champagne, comedian/singer was on he was very funny and had a brilliant voice too. We went to Babbacombe theatre on the Wednesday evening and the show was really good, Wayne Champagne was also in the show and he was very entertaining.
The bus stop was only a short distance away so we spent 'our free day' in Torquay. Buses were every 10 minutes.
I would certainly recommend The Coppice Hotel and would like to thank Jenny and Sid for making our stay there so comfortable and enjoyable.
Oh and if you live in Stoke, Sid likes Oatcakes .

Room Tip: If you want special requirements the hotel is happy to receive emails from you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

just returned from the second time this year. still as excellent as ever. sent an e-mail to the hotel asking for the same room as before (35) and got it.thanks jenny and sid for a lovely time see you after xmas.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room. no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Cant believe the negative comments about this Hotel,Have just returned from the Coppice Hotel having taken a group of 40+ on a five day holiday,we were taken by Forest Travel, a small family run Coach company, excellent service as usual, (thanks Alan )Ithink we must have gone to a different Hotel than Shaun D in earlier review,Hotel owners Syd & Jennie could not have been more friendly and helpful,the hotel is spotlessly clean,the food was excellent (and plenty of it),Rooms are very very comfortable,and all the staff are brilliant (thanks Charlene)smiling faces every day,We were fortunate to have good weather which helps..Anyone finding fault with the Coppice in my opinion must be very hard to please,having been on many coach holidays to numerous Hotels this was by far the best and we have been to a few good ones.Keep up the good work Guys 40+ people cant all be wrong, Who was it said 'you can pleas some of the people some of the time' etc: well you pleased all of the people all of the time, fantastic Hotel 'end of '

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at The Coppice for 3 nights whilst on a group coach tour visiting The Eden Project and The Gardens of Heligan.
The hotel was excellent value for money. The service by the staff was swift, efficient and very well organised.
The food served was lovely, there were 3 options for each of the 3 courses for dinner therefore something for everyone. Breakfast options were fantastic and very filling to see you through the day.
The beds were very comfortable and having duvets ensured a sound nights sleep!
If ever we are in that neck of the woods again we would be sure to stay at The Coppice!

The King Family, Lowestoft, Suffolk

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coppice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.