We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well deserved success.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coppice
Save
You added The Coppice to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Hertford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A well deserved success.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Many hotels are described as 'family run' but that doesn't necessarily mean that they are well run, or even friendly. In this case however it does, most emphatically. Both Jenny and Sid run an excellent hotel and they and their staff are friendly at all times, and although they are always busy, nothing is too much trouble for them. The building is warm and the food is good. What more...? I don't quite know why it has only two stars unless it is because it doesn't have a lift, but help with luggage is eagerly offered and it does have two swimming pools including a lovely, heated indoor pool.

This was our second stay within a year and it was very nice to be recognised as we stepped off the coach the second time. Incidentally, if you go more than once you can choose your own room if you let them know in time.

The food is good and there is good entertainment every night in the bar, we can certainly recommend Jillie who has a seamless flow of patter and several thousand songs to call on.

Jenny and Sid work hard to please us and make everything enjoyable and so it is no wonder that their hotel is a well deserved success.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    45
    14
    12
    2
See reviews for
45
111
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I have just spent our Easter break at this excellent hotel and could not fault the service, the food and the owners. When our coach finally arrived rather later than scheduled the owner came on board and explained that as we were late check in take our bags to the rooms and come down for dinner, all the staff here are very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The food here was excellent and very pleasantly served in a lovely dining room, and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

i treated my parents to a easter stay via Newmarket holidays for their 80th birthdays, i have just spoken to them on the phone on arrival back to winchester and they have had a fantastic time. The food was supberb, brilliant choice and always served hot, room large and very comfortable and clean, staff fantastic especially the owners who were very welcoming. Only slight dissapointment T.V. wasnt very successful in their room, they did report it and it was fixed quickly but the same problem happened the following day, unable to get ITV Channels and they didnt like to be a bother!!!!!!!
Overall very successful and they are considering returning but not on a package

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Your group of ex coach drivers,management,friends has increased from 7 the first year we found The Coppice too 18 this year.Again everything from booking the trip too leaving at the end was excellent.The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food and service in the dining room is excellent.The evening entertainment on this trip was superb.Jenny and Syd and the staff work their socks off to ensure the stay is memorable every time,a BIG THANK YOU from all of us.About to start the ball rolling for our next trip to The Coppice.This hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

From the moment Jenny the owner of this delightful hotel stepped on our coach to welcome us to the minute she waved us off 5 days later, everything was how one would like every hotel to be. Everyone on the coach agreed with this which is unusual to have pleased all. My wife and I cannot wait to return in the autumn, clean well appointed rooms, lovely food and a smile from the staff all day long, just what you want.

Room Tip: We booked a double but allocated a twin which was quickly changed on arrival so check your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have just arrived back home following a 5 Day break at this hotel. Excellent facilities, room was bright and clean and well serviced. Food and menus were varied and good quality and always piping hot. Staff were very helpful. I swam in the indoor pool each day.Disapointed with the price of the wine @ £13.50. Overall very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My wife and myself have just spent a wonderful week at the coppice hotel. This is the first time we had stayed and the owners and staff made us extremely welcome. The food was very good indeed and the room was super. We also really enjoyed the nightly entertainment and have just re-booked for Christmas and New Year. Well done Jenny and Syd (The owners) From Doreen and Bill Howson,Cheshire

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coppice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.