We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very pleased, and will recommend to our friends and family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red House Hotel to your Saves list
Red House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rousdown Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We were very pleased, and will recommend to our friends and family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

A hearty breakfast, and good fitness facilities. This added to the location, 10 minutes walk from the front , was perfect for us on a family break. The management were very obliging- a great value holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    29
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
35
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dudley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

we have just returned from a two night stay at The Red House with two children. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The hotel has a lovely friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The games room was a godsend for the kids. The room was adequate for what we needed, and was quiet. The pool, spa and sauna were fab (didnt use the gym) and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Would love to have used the outdoor pool but the weather didnt allow that!
Breakfast was lovely, there was enough to choose from and the kids loved the pancakes!!
The Red House is in an ideal location, away from the town so its quiet but still within walking distance.
Overall we loved it and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Red House hotel was very welcoming and friendly. There were 11 of us on a hen do and they happily met all of our requests (and there were some very demanding girls) The staff were lovely and the level of customer service was excellent. They booked us taxis, recommended restuarants, put our own champagne on ice, and looked after us in every way.
The bar and lounge areas are very comfortable, the pool was lovely and warm.
The breakfast is excellent, a good choice of full breakfast, pancakes, kippers, bacon and eggs, fruit, yogurts, toast, cereals, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. Couldn't ask for anything better.
The games rooms was well equipped with pool table, table tenis, tv, board games.
The location was fantastic (5 mins by taxi to centre of Torquay or a bus stops outside).
We had four rooms in total, all varying in size and layout, but they were all more than sufficient. The family room for four was a good size with two double bedrooms and a bathroom, with plenty of storage, tea and coffee, two tv's, plenty of mirrors ( important for four girls sharing) and sea views.
This hotel was fantastic value with the personal customer service that money cannot buy.
Even thou we were a group, I think this hotel would be well suited to families too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Red House hotel was very welcoming and friendly. There were 11 of us on a hen do and they happily met all of our requests (and there were some very demanding girls) The staff were lovely and the level of customer service was excellent. They booked us taxis, recommended restuarants, put our own champagne on ice, and looked after us in every way.
The bar and lounge areas are very comfortable, the pool was lovely and warm.
The breakfast is excellent, a good choice of full breakfast, pancakes, kippers, bacon and eggs, fruit, yogurts, toast, cereals, coffee, tea and a variety of juices. Couldn't ask for anything better.
The games rooms was well equipped with pool table, table tenis, tv, board games.
The location was fantastic (5 mins by taxi to centre of Torquay or a bus stops outside).
We had four rooms in total, all varying in size and layout, but they were all more than sufficient. The family room for four was a good size with two double bedrooms and a bathroom, with plenty of storage, tea and coffee, two tv's, plenty of mirrors ( important for four girls sharing) and sea views.
This hotel was fantastic value with the personal customer service that money cannot buy.
Even thou we were a group, I think this hotel would be well suited to families too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Went here for my birthday as a 2 day break found the hotel really clean and staff friendly. We were in room 2 and it was a big room again
Clean and tidy. We had breakfast both days and found it fine lots of choice if u didn't want a fry up. The swimming pool area was clean and tidy and was nice to spent a couple of hours relaxing after a day of shopping. Train station is in walking distance if u wanted to go out of Torquay for the day. Bar area was really nice also offered a lunch and eve meal but we didn't use this service as we like to go out to eat. We would go here again when we next take a trip to torquay

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Have just got back from this hotel after a long weekend break with 15 members of my family. First impressions are that the hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful. It seems that the hotel is being updated. We had 8 rooms altogether and they were all of much the same standard. My room (10) was the smallest of the rooms, but it was clean and comfortable.
The restaurant and bar areas are very comfortable. Breakfast is of a good quality and there is lots of variety to choose from. Tea, coffee and toast is plentiful, as we asked for extra of these every day. We had one evening meal which was absolutely fine.
The swimming pool, although not large or very deep, is ok for a weekend break. The sauna is excellent lovely and hot. My only complaint was that the jacuzzi did not seem very clean, although the pool and surrounding area were cleaned every night.
Prices in the bar are not that bad, although we did drink our own wine and champagne.
Torquay itself was very disappointing, but perhaps that was down to the time of year that we travelled.
All in all we had a great time and would definately go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Just wanted to say a big thank you again to Mark and all the staff at the Red House. It was really nice to see you all again and we had another fantastic stay with you. We were so glad to be able to book again to see you in August - something lovely to look forward to take us through the next six months! We will miss the smiling faces of Tina and Karen at breakfast tomorrow. It was really good to see other returning guests too and hopefully see them as well in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Hotel

Address: Rousdown Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A FAMILY RUN HOTEL WITH LEISURE FACILITES ,WHICH INCLUDE A GREAT SUN -TRAP OUT DOOR POOL ,OR INDOOR FOR THE LESS SUNNY DAYS .WE SERVE HOME-MADE FOOD ALL DAY ,HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY ROAST AND YOU CAN BOOK HAIR AND BEAUTY TREATMENTS .ALL ROOMS ARE ENSUITE AND OUR STAFF GO THAT EXTRA TO ENSURE YOU HAVE A LOVELY STAY . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Torquay
Red House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.