We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR WONDERFUL STAY IN BABBACOMBE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headland View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Headland View
Save
You added Headland View to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   37 Babbacombe Downs Road, | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Middlewich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OUR WONDERFUL STAY IN BABBACOMBE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had the most amazing stay with Helen and Craig. Everything was perfect - from the beautifully equipped and spotlessly clean room to the perfectly presented breakfasts every morning. The choice and quality of the food was superb and our hosts looked after us so well, giving advice on places to visit and restaurants to eat in the evening. Thank you both so much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
71
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very good service and the choice at breakfast was great. The view from the room was excellent, I would be going again and I have recommended it to all my family and friends. Many nice places
to visit and great places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

travelling as a Family we had a perfect stay at Headland view: the Location was great, the rooms all arranged with a love to Detail and Helen and Craig were the best Hosts we could imagine. they were very helpful and Kind. next time in Torquay we would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We returned to Headland View for a family get together.The period house is beautifully restored with a modern twist and stunning views over Babbacombe Downs and Lyme Bay. Owners Helen and Craig gave us a warm welcome and excellent service, recommending places to eat and making reservations for us. Breakfasts were super with a choice of cooked breakfasts - my husband had the full English and I had poached eggs which were perfect - after we'd helped ourselves from the breakfast buffet stocked with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, warm fresh pastries and fruit juices. Breakfast service was prompt but unhurried. We stayed in a room at the front with balcony which was lovely - extremely clean and stylish with a very comfortable bed. We had no hesitation recommending Headland View to our family. They also loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have balcony and sea view. Rear rooms seemed larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have been staying at Headland View for some 9 years. When I heard that the previous owners, Sue and Colin, were selling up in 2010, I was concerned that standards would drop and the place just wouldn't be the same. I needn't have worried because the new owners, Craig and Helen, managed the changeover seamlessly. They are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.

For friendliness, cleanliness, comfort, breakfasts-not to mention the stunning views-this is easily the best 'B&B' I have ever stayed at (and I've experienced a fair number).

I look forward so much to my annual stay every Spring and would have no hesitation at all in recommending Headland View to anyone visiting the English Riviera.


(NB, there isn't actually a pool, I rated this in error).

Room Tip: The front bedrooms offer stunning views across the bay which can be appreciated even more via the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had the most truly amazing stay at Headland View. Craig and Helen, are absolutely lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them, it shines through that they are 110% committed to there bed and breakfast, making sure that all guests are happy. The whole of the house is delightful, modern and very welcoming.

All the rooms are all immaculate, indivually designed, we were very happy to be given the room at the back with a super king sized bed, where upon we had the best nights sleep ever.
The rooms at the front have balconies, where you can sit outside on lovely chairs with a glass of vino, looking out over the beautiful downs and Lyme bay, or coffee in the mornings watching the sun come up.

There is a lounge at the front of the house, which guests can use, if you have been out all day and wish to chill out somewhere apart from your room, this we particularly liked, great place to be able to chat with Craig/Helen and other guests.

Breakfast was cooked by Craig (well done Chef), served by Helen who was always smiling, the scrambled egg/salmon was gorgeous, hubby had the omelette, which he claims was the best he had eaten.

Headland View is situated on a quiet road, there is a good pub just a couple of doors down, where they serve good home cooked food, an added bonus if you do not wish to drive anywhere.
Babbacombe is very pretty town, short walk from Headland view. The Downs are wonderful to go and have a long walk, with beautiful scenery.

In our opinion if you have just read this review, please then do not hesitate - go and stay - you will not be disappointed - absolutely perfect in everyway.

Many thanks to Craig/Helen - we shall return. X

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had a really good time at the Headland View. I was warmly welcomed and given a lovely room with sea view ...stunning. I only stayed one night but enough to make a lasting impression on the hospitality I received, the cleanliness of the room, and extra mile the owners made to help me find my way around Babbacombe and Torquay. Thanks so much Helen and Craig!

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Headland View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland View

Address: 37 Babbacombe Downs Road, | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Headland View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA four star gold award and AA breakfast award. This beautiful Victorian guesthouse with panoramic unobstructed sea views over the spectacular world heritage coast of lyme bay is a fabulous place to stay. Positioned directly on the Babbacombe Downs, the guest house has six individual bedrooms the majority having French doors opening on to balconies with tables and chairs to sit and relax while taking in the magnificent seaviews. Or choose one of our rearview rooms with superking/large twin beds or with four poster bed. The guest house has retained many of its original Victorian features and architecture, with a spacious guest lounge, sun lounge and pretty dinning room, for you to enjoy your traditional freshly prepared and served English breakfast or choose one of the daily specials fruit pancakes, omelette, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or poached eggs on English toasted muffin. All accompanied by cereals, fresh fruit, fruit compote and toast with conserves and homemade marmalade. Craig and Helen will ensure a relaxing and memorable stay. A great place to stay for visiting the surrounding area of Torquay, Paighton, Brixham, Dartmouth, Dartmoor and the southwest coastal path. Ideally located for lovely blue flag beaches with a great choice of traditional English pubs and a large variety of restaurants nearby. Spoil yourself and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Headland View Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headland View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.