We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee by the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Babbacombe Bay Cafe

The Babbacombe Bay Cafe
33-35 Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe Bay Hotel, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
+(44)1803 323509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 254 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop, Seafood, Bistro, Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Paignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Coffee by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Passing by the other day we saw that Babbacombe Bay Hotel was now a boutique-style hotel with coffee lounge on the lower ground floor. Bi-fold doors were open, the whole place looked so inviting and therefore today, after a stroll across the Downs, we stopped for coffee and teacake.
While I cannot comment on the food available (a teacake could hardly be described as 'food') I am concerned about the diversity of the comments, so can only speak as I find: a great place, only one minor thing wrong: when my husband was offered hot or cold milk with this coffee, he requested hot but it was chilled milk that arrived. But no matter, this wasn't something we were fussed about.
The teacake (which we shared, not being particularly hungry) was spicy, and butter came in daisy-shaped butter pats (nice touch) and the jam was plentiful.
The place is fresh and modern, sea-grass style chairs (I think that's what they are?), wood floor, plain wooden tables, but all sparklingly clean. Simple décor (dark red drum-shaped overhead lamps, large ornately-framed mirror) and spotless loo.
Staff were friendly and attentive and we didn't have to wait long for our coffee or the tea cake.
We would certainly return and next time perhaps try this place for lunch.
From the reviews I've read, there may be some areas that need a little tweaking, but nothing seems insuperable. Everyone has different expectations, but we're quite fussy people and ours were certainly met.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    20
    8
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely new cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Comfortable and friendly. Outdoor seating was very comfortable. Great cookies. An ideal situation giving a super view of the Downs and bay.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

New place on the downs, looks great on the outside but poor service. Went in for tea and scones, waited 30 minutes only to be told scones we ordered, there was only one left although there were plenty on the counter when we ordered, and they were not busy! When we complained and asked for a refund they made us wait another fifteen minutes to get money back as we paid by debit card. Plenty of other places on Downs with far better service & food, Angels Tea Rooms for instance, will stick with them from now on.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Large menu but 3 out of 5 meals not available!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We thought we would try the Babbacombe Bay Tea Room for a light lunch as the terrace and appearance of the place looked so inviting. After choosing form the large menu we were disappointed to find that they didn't do the children's snack boxes anymore and also 3 of the meals we required were also unavailable. The waitress said they were changing the menu! With the snack boxes off the menu this left no children's 'cold' option at all. There were at least 6 types of scone to go with the cream tea including cherry and ginger but sadly only the basic, plain, cheese or fruit were available and weirdly when the fruit scone arrived it was served with Marmalade alongside the strawberry jam and clotted cream...? I had the Prawn Marie Rose Baked Potato and have to say I thought it would be served with fresh prawns so was very disappointed to find that it was a catering style topping. Overall a lovely setting with good menu choices but lacking in available food choice, quality and finishing touches.

Room Tip: I did not stay at this hotel, only dined here so cannot comment on the accomodation.
See more room tips
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Service not great, food was nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We visited here thinking we'd try it since they'd spent so long doing it up and it looked great! However despite being a quarter full we were told they were too busy to take our order and wouldn't even show us a menu! So we just sat and waited until we were allowed to see the menu. When we eventually got to order the service was good and the food was nice. They forgot the butter for our toast, but did fetch it immediately when asked. Not sure I'd recommend it, prefer the middle room

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Babbacombe Bay Cafe also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Babbacombe Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Babbacombe Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.