We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and very welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garway Lodge

Save Saved
You added Garway Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garway Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   79 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and very welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked the room originally for our stay and the beginning of January but due to other commitments we had to change the date of our stay and they were very accommodating. On arrival we were welcomed with a huge smile from the owner, also helped us with her vast knowledge of the top local restaurants where we could eating on our trip. The room was clean and too a very high standard with everything you would expect from a 4 star guest house, and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in and the breakfast was lovely too, offering local produce cooked to a high standard, really couldn't fault this lovely guest house!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for leaving a lovely review for us, It was great meeting you both.

We are glad you had a lovely time, we do try to make our guests feel as comfortable and at home as possible. We have found from our own experiences, if you feel uncomfortable in the place you stay, you do not enjoy your trip as much.

We were happy to change the day of your stay. Booking directly with us give us more control over moving bookings if needed.

We are very pleased about your comment regarding the beds, as we have put new mattresses in all of the rooms, and we have been told people have overslept because they are comfortable.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stops on the way home

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My Husband and I stayed last weekend for two nights, Julie welcomed us with all the information we required, booked us taxis on two occasions, our room was so comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The breakfast menu had everything we required and more. Julie and Paul are the perfect Hosts. When in the area we will definitely stay with them again. I fully recommend the Garway Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for leaving a lovely review for us, it was a pleasure meeting you both, and we are so pleased you had a terrific time while you were here visiting your friends.

You both were perfect guests, and we hope you had a good trip home.

We look forward to meeting you both again.

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cricklade
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was travelling on business and arrived late. That was no problem for Julia though.
She was most welcoming. She offered me cakes and tea on arrival. The room was nice and comfortable and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and I had a good night sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, we are so pleased you had a comfortable stay, We are happy to stay up for you if you are arriving late, as long as you let us know what time you expect to arrive. Especially with the weather we have been having lately, you need to drive safely.

We feel it is important for any guest, especially female guests travelling alone to feel safe with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very friendly welcome with coffee, cakes and biscuits and a tray for my muddy boots. Room had everything I needed, comfy bed, TV, en-suite - it was warm and quiet.
Breakfast was perfect and set me up for another day walking - and Julia insisted I take some fruit to keep me going till lunch.
Fantastic value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and rested after a day of walking, I hope you managed slapton sands this time. There are some beautiful walks and sights in this part of the country.

Thank you for your lovely review, it is always nice to hear when a guest has enjoyed themselves.

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

nothing is too much trouble, cake and coffee on arrival, print out map of Torquay, advice on where to eat, help getting to the study day following an amazing breakfast.
definetly recommend to colleagues and friends.
situated conviently near the hospital where the study day was held and near the train station at Torre

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We know how hard it is to travel alone, and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and felt safe. We do try to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible, whether it is one night or 10. We are glad you enjoyed your course, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for three nights in August and had an amazing stay. I slept like a baby & being pregnant I could have taken their bed home. The staff were really helpful and friendly and would love to return next summer. Thank you for a lovely stay. Lisa & Luke.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review,we are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and was comfortable, we have new mattresses in all the rooms. We hope all is well with the baby.

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I chose to stay at Garway Lodge as a result of positive reviews from previous guests, they weren't exaggerated either! I was warmly welcomed by Julia and Paul with tea and biscuits before being shown to my room. I opted for a single occupancy room being a solo traveller which was both reasonably priced and very well furnished. Breakfast was excellent. Overall a very relaxing stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed your breakfasts, we use locally sourced items where possible. We are happy you felt secure.

Paul and Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garway Lodge

Address: 79 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garway Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning Guest House in Torquay, catering exclusively for adults, where your comfort and relaxation is guaranteed. Enjoy quality double, single and twin en-suite guest rooms or the luxury ‘Chocolate Room.’ Whether your stay is for business or leisure, choose 'room only' or spoil yourself with our extensive breakfast menu of local Devon produce all freshly cooked to order. Free parking and wi-fi. Close to seafront, transport links and Riviera International Conference Centre. Contact us for details of our short breaks and seasonal packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Garway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garway Lodge Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garway Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.