We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WILL BE GOING BACK AGAIN EXCELLENT.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kings Lodge to your Saves list
Kings Lodge
44 Bamfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY , England (Formerly Kings Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
wales
1 review
“WILL BE GOING BACK AGAIN EXCELLENT.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed in june 09 4 a weekend with our son .paul and sharon made us welcome, so we went back in august, just myself and husband this time . we had a fab time, paul and sharon were great hosts, and they couldnt do enough to help if we needed anything, BREAKFAST was great but the poached eggs were fab. We also had evening meals and there was a good range to choose from. We are going back there because we had great time and met some lovely people too . thanks again to PAUL and SHARON.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
72
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed for 1 week with 2 children 10 and 8.  Lovely room, clean towels whenever we needed them and fabulous Breakfasts - especially the poached eggs.  Paul and Sharon made us feel at home as soon as we arrived, would definately go back. Had a good supply of Games and Books to which kept the kids amused. Good Location about 10/15 min walk into the town with several beaches nearby and a swimming pool. Couldnt fault the accomodation or the people.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Excellent accommodation with all the finishing touches such as tea making facilities and biscuits, excellent breakfast, very friendly and welcoming. Very toddler friedly, our little boy loved it. Loved Torquay very cosmopolitan. Third visit to Torquay, many more to come.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Our familly has just returned from staying at the Kings Lodge for the weekend and have had a lovely stay. Paul and Sharon are two lovely people and made our stay with them a very relaxing and positve experience. They were both great with our three children, the breakfast was very tasty, our room was very much adiquate sleeping all five of us including a cot which was supplied by them. Altogether we have had a very pleasurable stay with them and would deffinatly be considering a return in the summer holidays.
A big thankyou to you both x

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed at Kings Lodge last year (and will be returning this year) partly on Business and partly leisure and found it a comfortable friendly hotel with excellent care given to us all

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

After an eventful journey, typical of a bank holiday weekend we were warmly welcomed to the B & B. Our room was comfortable and clean with plenty of room for clothes for 3 people for a weeks stay. We started most mornings with a tasty full english breakfast with a local delicacy, hoggs pudding. This kept us full until evening. Trips out included one to Drago Castle, lovely place with friendly staff willing to pass on their knowledge, however the toilets were not pleasant but these are in the process of being improved. Living Coast, penguins galore, this seemed a very small place at first but there is more to see than meets the eye, more suited for visitors with smaller children and you can come and go as many times in the day as you like, this would ensure you see more of the feeding of the animals. Cockington, we walked into Cockington on a lovely sunny day, a beautiful little village with a few shops and some craft places in Cockington Court, a nice place for a picnic. We also took a steam train ride from Paignton to Kingswear and then a ferry across to Dartmouth, short of time we decided to take a small boat up the river to the castle. If you decide this trip is for you I would recommend you start out earlier in the day. All in all we had a terrific holiday, well looked after, even in the bar well into the night on a couple of occassions. We will be returning if not later this year definitely next.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Service was outstanding from the second we arrived. They were very helpfull and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Nothing seemed to be a problem and were always asked if we needed anything in our very clean room. The breakfasts were simply fantastic to set you up for the day. We will definatly stay here again and cant recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Address: 44 Bamfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY , England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.