We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Lodge to your Saves list
Kings Lodge
44 Bamfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY , England (Formerly Kings Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at the kings lodge for the weekend, we had a pleasent stay.
Very reasonably priced and the owners are really nice and friendly, we were made to feel very welcome.
Also had the best poached eggs at breakfast.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
72
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were personally greeted by Paul on arrival and show to our rooms. They are of a decent size as is the bathroom and kept very clean. The breakfast menu is varied and I can recommend the full English. The centre of Torquay is only a 10 minute walk and the seafront even closer, but being November this want a main attraction. Paignton and Brixham are in easy reach by car along with the rest of South Devon. Thanks for a great stay Paul.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was my first time holidaying alone and found Paul and Sharon very welcoming. The room was very comfortable and of a high standard, there was a good choice for breakfast and Paul and Sharon were very helpful with ideas and assistance about local attractions. I would highly recommend the Kings Lodge

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in August everything was perfect.on arrival paul made us feel very welcome with tea/coffee and a chat.we stayed in the four poster bedroom which was as like the rest of the hotel, food, service and hospitality excellent we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for a few nights in August, with the exception of the British weather everything was perfect. Our Host Paul was waiting for our arrival and our bags were carried to the ground floor room, perfectly located within easy reach of the bar! We stayed in a family room and the kids loved the bunk beds. The facilities in the room were excellent, tea, coffee, biscuits, mints etc. replenished every day! The breakfasts were superb, especially the 'Full Monty' which set me up for the day, cooked perfectly and in excellent time.
The location is ideal, just a short, flatish walk into the town, 10-15 minutes, we did it 2/3 times a day with a 5 and 7 year old.
We couldn't have wanted for anything and will definitely be calling at he Kings Lodge again soon.

Room Tip: Our kids go to bed between 7-9pm so it was good to be on the ground floor so we could pop for a drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent a lovely week in Torquay at the Kings Lodge Hotel. Paul was the perfect host. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was lovely and clean. We all really enjoyed the breakfasts with a wide range menu, was nice to be able to have something different every day. The boys even had the use of the hotel's buckets and spades for the beach! Would highly recommend and can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were very impressed. Paul was very welcoming and made us feel at home- the room was spacious and comfortable, very clean and for each day we were there, it maintained at the same standard.

The breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety prepared especially and was very well done. Paul made sure there was space for our baby and ensured his bottles were steralised....we are so thankful for having found this little gem so close to the beach, we wouldnt have wanted to stay anywhere else.

Cannot fault this hotel for a moment...it is ideal in every way and the perfect location to explore Torquay and all its wonders.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Address: 44 Bamfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY , England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.