We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westgate to your Saves list
The Westgate
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very friendly host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday and couldnt fault the service from Paul he even got me a birthday card which was a nice touch. Location is great and nice breaky. If I had to nit pik then there wasnt wifi throughout the property but just in the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
56
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed ouselves from the moment we arrived to the morning we left.
Lorraine and Paul are perfect hosts and a super team. They immediately put guests at ease with their friendliness and natural ability in hotel management.
We loved the cheeky banter with everyone staying at the Westgate.
It was our first visit but we were not surprised to find that other guests were regular visitors.
We absolutely loved our 5 night stay in this gem of a hotel.
Paul and Lorraine have high standards, work hard and pay attention to details.
A smashing place run by super people!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you ever go to Devon, but especially Torquay, you must stay here. The hosts Paul & Lorraine run a lovely Guest House/Hotel in the heart of the town. Hosting comes second nature to them, and nothing is too much trouble. On arrival we were offered tea or coffee, but the bar offers a wide selection of drinks, but a lovely ice cold larger was served on request, especially after a couple of hours sat in a car on a warm sunny evening. I need say no more than my 'tip' below about the rooms which has all the normal and accepted facilities, hairdryer, tea making facilities etc. the full English Breakfast was excellent cooked by Lorraine, (and we learnt one of her cooking secrets), with Paul serving. There is ample car parking on the premises with security cameras watching over them. Having now stayed here, we will definitely be back, and maybe bring others with us to enjoy this beautiful establishment. Cheers Guys :-)

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the four poster bedroom. Beautifully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Warm and friendly welcome, comfortable hotel with a lovely breakfast.Rooms are lovely and provide a hairdryer,tea/coffee making facilities and a fan. Hotel is situated up a hill which is a ten minute walk down to seafront or bus which stops outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lorraine & Paul, you have a superb establishment there! Pity so many people are knowledgeable of your existence now.. ..May struggle to get a reservation in future?! :( ... OK,I concede! .. Perhaps women DO make the best breakfasts after all and by heck, am I ever missing YOURS this week! :-) Next visit, we're arriving in a van.. That king size 4 poster and mattress are coming home with us. ;-) Meanwhile, for the yet to be initiated,, there's a saying ( and I claim the authorship of it ) that goes along the lines of,," it's very hard to improve upon perfection when it has already been achieved" and that just about sums up this easy access venue with all the natural charm and high standards that have sadly, been lost elsewhere in the town. Paul's an encyclopedia of local knowledge and what he can't tell you, you'll find out by consulting the numerous activity booklets and maps that are accessible around the hotel. If we can't stay here again, we simply will give Torquay a miss until we can. Thanks both (and Jake), for making our stay such a memorable occasion. xxxx Andy & Jackie

Room Tip: Every room has its individual appeal so, best consult their online brochure an then, book directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Westgate Hotel is a 10 roomed establishment, hence the title of our review. We arrived on the Spring bank holiday after an early start for our 2 hour journey which, due to an accident on the M5, stretched into 6 hours.We were greeted by Paul whose first sentence was "how was your journey, the kettle is on, I'll just get you some refreshment". The room, no. 10 was on the top floor - it had a superking bed - so superking I couldn't find my husband in it, it was supremely comfortable, with top quality bedding, and furnishings. Obviously a great deal of care has gone into each of the rooms, soft, large towels, a shower with ample pressure which really works, a flat screen tv, complimentary tea, coffee, and biscuits and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. Free parking outside was an added and appreciated feature. Breakfast was lovely, cereals, fruit, yogurts, full english breakfast, with quality bacon and sausage, and eggs cooked any way you want them, followed by toast with farmhouse butter.....Paul served breakfasts and recommended places to visit saying that if we did it, it would be a " cracking day out". So we did and it was - This couple are perfect hosts, but it is genuine - witty, caring and I just wish this hotel was 3 times as big, and one room always had my name on the door. Thank you Westgate, we'll be back.

Lou & Malcolm Ilett

Room Tip: Don't ask for room 10 - I want it! (there are no bad rooms!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were here for a conference, so looking mainly for a comfortable bed and a yummy breakfast. We not only got this but a brilliant host who made us very welcome. One of the few b&bs with parking too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate is an elegant Victorian villa that retains many original features. Ample free parking on site. With a Visit England assessed 4 Star with silver award guest accommodation, it's superbly located in a leafy conservation area by Torre Abbey in walking distance to the beach, harbour, town centre shopping, railway station and one of the closest to the Riviera Conference & Leisure Centre. There is a bus stop outside. There's a selection of tastefully decorated all en-suite family, double, super king, twin and single rooms together with an elegant guests' lounge, licensed bar and home cooked breakfast with hand - made Torquay sausages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Hotel Torquay
The Westgate Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.