We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Tor Park Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Tor Park Hotel
24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
high wycombe bucks
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

had a lovely bank holiday weekend here.... brilliant value for money... food entertainment drink all included.... will definately be going again...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    118
    65
    22
    10
See reviews for
34
200
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Just returned from a 4 day (3 night) stay at the Tor Park Hotel, Torquay, with Shearings. From the outset we were made very welcome by the friendly and efficient staff. The waitress Janice deserves a special mention as she was always cheerful and was very efficient at providing the various courses. By any standards the food was very good, particularly so when you consider the overall cost of the holiday. The room was a good size and clean and the entertainment was the best that we had seen on any of our Shearings holidays. Overall, based on our experience, we can thoroughly recommend the Tor Park Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We travelled with Shearings on an all inclusive deal, our first experience of a COACH HOLIDAY in GB. We were pleasantly surprised at the good organisation of the staff and drivers with holidaymakers coming from all parts of the country. Having read some of the reviews and being used to timeshare accomodation we did not know what to expect but the room we had was newly decorated and the bathroom was small but spotless, The staff were really friendly and helpful, we found the room very hot, but the next day we were given a fan which made all the difference. The entertainment was first class, something for everyone. The food was adequete not like home but nowhere is, one advantage was the bus stop being right outside the hotel and buses every 10 minutes. The hotel main areas were in need of some TLC but having worked in hotels at one time, it is impossible to keep on top of the decoration all the time. The overall holiday was excellent value for money, I had a job to come to terms with having spent all evening in the bar and having not spent any money!!!! We would recommend this break and will all most certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Had a 4 day, 3 night stay at this hotel on a shearings all inclusive break. The hotel was ok. The first problem when we got there was the wait for the cases to brought up to our room. After a 30 minute wait I went down stairs for them, with only 10 minutes before dinner. On the first night at the all inclusive bar I met FRAN, a very miserable unprofessional jobsworth women thankfully she wasn't working Sat and Sun night. At this hotel they run the all inclusive bar different than any other shearings hotel I have been to, you can only get a drink if you take an empty glass to the bar. The breakfast was poor, the chef wouldn't do me any fried bread. The room was nice. A big thankyou to sheila the housemaid who was helpful, fun and taught me how to fold towels into a swan.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We have just returned from Tor Park Hotel , having gone on a three day break with Sheerings. The hotel is in need of updating , and a very good clean . Our room was dirty , the skirting boards were full of dirt , and the carpet needed a good hovering . The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly , and couldnt do enough for you , the food was ok and the service very good . I suppose you get what you pay for , it was good value for money , if only it had been clean !!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORDSHIRE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

staff were friendly enough. entertainment good with something different each night, steve davis comedian was the highlight of the week. special thankyou to sheila the housemaid who was especially helpful and taught me how to fold towels into a swan. only slight criticisms were that the place could do with redecorating, food portions too small and no air conditioning in the rooms or entertainment room which led to an uncontrollable desire to strip from the waste upwards.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Really enjoyable stay couldn't believe some of the reviews we have read it seems some people pay for what is a budget holiday and expect the Dorchester ! We found the hotel real value for money the room was good and the bed comfortable . the night entertainment was brilliant and the staff very friendly. The food was good with a varied choice. The only one minor complaint we had was that the service at mealtimes was quite slow otherwise we would have given 5 stars ! Well done and we would have no hesitation in returning in the future .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
#39 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Tor Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.