We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Tor Park Hotel
24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BAY INCLUSIVE DEALS
Ranked #55 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Me and my husband went on a Shearing's break to this hotel. Value for money was excellent. All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The only fault we could find was our room. Although spotlessly clean and a comfortable bed, as we were on the ground floor we couldn't open our window and the room was extremely hot without the heating being on. Apart from that we wouldn't hesitate in staying at the Tor Park again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear JenniferAB2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel. I am very glad that you found everything to your satisfaction and i shall certainly pass on your comments to the staff. Our ground floor rooms are fitted with radiator thermostats which we could have altered for you if you were uncomfortable so when you return - please just ask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    88
    51
    19
    10
See reviews for
25
150
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just had a wonderful holiday at The Tor Park Hotel in Torquay. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the staff couldn't do enough for us. Always obliging, helpful & smiling. The whole hotel was spotless, bedrooms very comfortable & well equipped. Couldn't have asked for any more. The meals were excellent with plenty of choice at both breakfast & dinner, with a good lunch & snack menu available if required. Dining room, lounge & entertainment areas are bright & cheerful, the entertainment was very good, The hotel is situated on the edge of the town but within walking distance, and is also on the main bus route. The area is quiet & peaceful. This was only our second Shearings holiday but, we were with my parents who are probably among some of Shearings best customers, they love Torquay & always stay at the Tor Park. They chose our destination & all I can say is "what a great choice" We will definitely be back. Thank you everyone at Tor Park for making our stay so enoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Margaret

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the Tor Park hotel. Your commendation of the hotel on this site is very pleasing to receive. I sincerely hope to welcome you, your parents and hopefully some more of your family and friends back to the hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. This was a Shearings Holiday with Direct Travel not via an Interchange which was much better. The Hotel is at the back of TORQUAY not near the beach. There is a Bus Stop a very short walk away. We had a cosy quiet Room at the side of the Hotel.
DOUBLE ROOM Spotlessly clean. Big Wardrobe Very comfortable bed. Hairdryer. Small old TV with good picture. Full length Mirror. Modern BATHROOM with Shower ( see photo ) Plenty of hot water
MEALS BREAKFAST was between 8am and 9am. Cereals, Prunes, Grapefruit and Juice ( see photo ) Plenty of choice between Full English, Porridge, Kipper or Ham and Egg, Toast, Tea and Coffee
DINNER was between 6.30pm and 8 pm. Food was very very good. Service was run with Military Precision. The best Dinners we have had in any Shearings Hotel so far. If there is an Employee of the Month Award it should go to Dameon. He was totally unflappable under pressure. His natural Customer Service skills are 5 star.
ENTERTAINMENT Bingo ( cash prize ) Quiz ( prize Maltesers ) Singer / Comedian was good and encouraged Audience participation. Dancing. Everyone appeared to enjoy the Entertainment and relaxed with the 4 free drinks available. THANK YOU TOR PARK we really enjoyed our stay with you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear happymousewest!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the hotel. Also thank you for posting such lovely pictures of both room 4 and the public areas. Ironically the restaurant has been decorated since you left and is now looking very clean and smart. Thank you also for your very kind comments about Daemon. He is a very capable young man and I am glad his service was of a high standard and I shall certainly pass on your comments to our chef. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visited the Tor Park Hotel as part of a Shearing's 5 day break. The hotel situated in a quiet residential area is not the most impressive of buildings. However the sunny disposition of the welcoming Manager and the fast and efficient check in soon dispel any doubts. Our room number 40 was a little cramped but had a comfortable bed and plenty of storage /hangers etc. The shower and toilet were in a cubicle but the sink was fitted in the bedroom. I had two complaints, (1) There should have been a towel hook fitted close to sink and(2) the entrance door to the shower was far too small for anyone but the slimmest (not me) of people. As mentioned before in other reviews the lift is a bit ancient talking nearly a minute to climb two floors.
The restaurant is a bright and pleasant place to eat, and the entertainment room functional but with little comfortable seating, There is however an adjacent lounge with settees and armchairs.
There is a bus stop just across the road and there are frequent services to town and to Newton Abbot.
Meals were tasty, well prepared ,choices available at breakfast and Dinner, plus a lunch and takeaway menu available.
Service. One word, excellent. All staff we met, reception, waiters, bar staff, cleaners, repairmen were friendly and efficient (even under pressure).
Entertainment was enjoyable.
All in all they say you get what you pay for. You do at the Tor Park and more!!
Oh forgot, the weather was poor, but the sunshine at the hotel made up for it.

Room Tip: If you are over 10 stone, refuse room 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear ragrut

Thank you for writing such a balanced and detailed review of your stay at the hotel. As you have said unfortunately our hotel architecture is never going to win any prizes but I am so pleased that the 'sunshine' from our staff more than made up for it. I take on board your comment about the towel ring which I think is a good idea. Unfortunately all our showers are a similar size but some of them have full-door openings rather than the corner type in room 40. Also some of our rooms have bath with a shower over which may suit you better. If you do book and return please do not hesitate to call the hotel direct and I will do my best to find you the most suitable room. You and indeed so many contributors to this site have mentioned the high standard of service provided by our staff -who all do an excellent job. Thank you once again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just been to Tor Park Hotel in Devon for 5 days with 2 friends of ours on a shearings tour.
Everything was as perfect as you would want it to be.The food was fantastic the staff were
absolutely great,anything you asked for was no problem to anyone.Entertainment was also
brilliant,no complaints about anything Looking forward to going again very soon

Alan, Susan, Gordon & Andrea.

Room Tip: Book a double room there's lots more room. Try and get a room away from the kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Alan Susan Gordon & Andrea
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Tor park hotel? There is nothing more pleasing than when we have been able to exceed our guests expectations. As you have said we are always available to try and help (if we are able to!) and make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as is humanly possible. Please come back and visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Torpark hotel

We visited this hotel as a Shearings customer. The hotel is situated some considerable walking distance from the centre of Torquay and the Sea front. My impression of the hotel is that it is one of the better Shearings hotels I have visited. I would say it is a typical British 3 star hotel but it has the advantages of being run by excellent staff who, between them produce a comfortable stay in warm surroundings with a very good selection of food.
The evening entertainment was good and along with the warm welcome we were given made a very pleasant 4 night stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Malc 333

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. It is very rewarding to hear you not only enjoyed your time at the hotel but also rated the hotel and staff so highly. I really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel maybe in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, this is our 3rd visit this year for a Monday - Friday break with other family members. All the staff are exceptional but a very special mention to Sharon our waitress and Fran and Trina the fab duo behind the bar. Nothing is too much trouble for all the staff, and anything you have a problem with is dealt with efficiently and always with a smile. Although it is a Shearings Hotel and you can go by coach if you wish we always self drive. Great staff, great food, and great entertainment as well as being value for money. Looking forward to our next visit in the new year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Lyn

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your 3rd (Yes 3rd!) visit to the hotel this year. I believe that we must be doing something right when guests return to the hotel with this frequency. Your comments regarding the staff, food and entertainment are very welcome and I look forward to welcoming back to the Tor Park in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Tor Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay Tor Park Hotel to your Saves list