We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast service,slow lift,slimmer shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Save
You added Bay Tor Park Hotel to your Saves list
24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
grimsby
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Fast service,slow lift,slimmer shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visited the Tor Park Hotel as part of a Shearing's 5 day break. The hotel situated in a quiet residential area is not the most impressive of buildings. However the sunny disposition of the welcoming Manager and the fast and efficient check in soon dispel any doubts. Our room number 40 was a little cramped but had a comfortable bed and plenty of storage /hangers etc. The shower and toilet were in a cubicle but the sink was fitted in the bedroom. I had two complaints, (1) There should have been a towel hook fitted close to sink and(2) the entrance door to the shower was far too small for anyone but the slimmest (not me) of people. As mentioned before in other reviews the lift is a bit ancient talking nearly a minute to climb two floors.
The restaurant is a bright and pleasant place to eat, and the entertainment room functional but with little comfortable seating, There is however an adjacent lounge with settees and armchairs.
There is a bus stop just across the road and there are frequent services to town and to Newton Abbot.
Meals were tasty, well prepared ,choices available at breakfast and Dinner, plus a lunch and takeaway menu available.
Service. One word, excellent. All staff we met, reception, waiters, bar staff, cleaners, repairmen were friendly and efficient (even under pressure).
Entertainment was enjoyable.
All in all they say you get what you pay for. You do at the Tor Park and more!!
Oh forgot, the weather was poor, but the sunshine at the hotel made up for it.

Room Tip: If you are over 10 stone, refuse room 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear ragrut

Thank you for writing such a balanced and detailed review of your stay at the hotel. As you have said unfortunately our hotel architecture is never going to win any prizes but I am so pleased that the 'sunshine' from our staff more than made up for it. I take on board your comment about the towel ring which I think is a good idea. Unfortunately all our showers are a similar size but some of them have full-door openings rather than the corner type in room 40. Also some of our rooms have bath with a shower over which may suit you better. If you do book and return please do not hesitate to call the hotel direct and I will do my best to find you the most suitable room. You and indeed so many contributors to this site have mentioned the high standard of service provided by our staff -who all do an excellent job. Thank you once again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    110
    59
    19
    10
See reviews for
32
177
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just been to Tor Park Hotel in Devon for 5 days with 2 friends of ours on a shearings tour.
Everything was as perfect as you would want it to be.The food was fantastic the staff were
absolutely great,anything you asked for was no problem to anyone.Entertainment was also
brilliant,no complaints about anything Looking forward to going again very soon

Alan, Susan, Gordon & Andrea.

Room Tip: Book a double room there's lots more room. Try and get a room away from the kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Alan Susan Gordon & Andrea
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Tor park hotel? There is nothing more pleasing than when we have been able to exceed our guests expectations. As you have said we are always available to try and help (if we are able to!) and make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as is humanly possible. Please come back and visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Torpark hotel

We visited this hotel as a Shearings customer. The hotel is situated some considerable walking distance from the centre of Torquay and the Sea front. My impression of the hotel is that it is one of the better Shearings hotels I have visited. I would say it is a typical British 3 star hotel but it has the advantages of being run by excellent staff who, between them produce a comfortable stay in warm surroundings with a very good selection of food.
The evening entertainment was good and along with the warm welcome we were given made a very pleasant 4 night stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Malc 333

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. It is very rewarding to hear you not only enjoyed your time at the hotel but also rated the hotel and staff so highly. I really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel maybe in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, this is our 3rd visit this year for a Monday - Friday break with other family members. All the staff are exceptional but a very special mention to Sharon our waitress and Fran and Trina the fab duo behind the bar. Nothing is too much trouble for all the staff, and anything you have a problem with is dealt with efficiently and always with a smile. Although it is a Shearings Hotel and you can go by coach if you wish we always self drive. Great staff, great food, and great entertainment as well as being value for money. Looking forward to our next visit in the new year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Lyn

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your 3rd (Yes 3rd!) visit to the hotel this year. I believe that we must be doing something right when guests return to the hotel with this frequency. Your comments regarding the staff, food and entertainment are very welcome and I look forward to welcoming back to the Tor Park in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Been there many times always value for money. Staff always helpful and pleasant. Entertainment was very good. Room had everything we needed. Food was good always plenty of choice.We will be going back next year. A huge thanx to Sharen our waitress. Fran and Trina behind the bar for their excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Dawn & Steve

Thank you for your great review of the Tor Park and your praise for Sharen, Fran & Trina is very welcome. I look forward to your return...soon I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a good week great food always a good selection . All staff were friendly bar staff were excellent service first class .Room had everything we needed in it bed could have been more comfy, been there several times happy to go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear M & M Cox

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always nice to receive a review from one of our regular guests and we look forward to your return. I wish you had mentioned the bed while you were here and we would have sorted the problem. We are currently in the process of replacing the majority of our beds so hopefully on your return you will be pleasantly suprised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice break at the Tor Park hotel, it was a very welcoming hotel & the staff were all excellent.
The quality of the meals & table service was very good, along with the ladies behind the bar made it into a really pleasing weekend. We would have no issue returning to the Tor Park and would recommend it to friends & family who want good value for money.

A mention to Wayne the Shearings coach driver should also be made as he is a brilliant representative for the company, he has a good knowledge of the area and kept everyone entertained and informed on the excursion and journey to & from the resort.

The only downside to the stay was that we occupied room 7 in a lower part of the hotel which does have a problem with damp, this I appreciate could not be helped but it was noticeable as soon as you made your way downstairs towards the rooms, as we were only staying three nights it was not so much of a problem but I am sure the hotel would have tried to find us another room if we had asked for one. all in all we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Tydraig

It is always refreshing to receive a review from someone who has balanced the positive with the negative parts of their stay. I am glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and I will be happy to pass on your comments to the departments you have mentioned. We did have a small leak in the corridor adjacent to Room 7 which has now been sorted. I was totally unaware that it had affected your room until I read your comments and exactly as you say if I had known I would have had no hesitation in moving you elsewhere. I am glad that this experience has not put you off returning and recommending the Tor Park to your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Tor Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.