We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week full board” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow International Hotel to your Saves list
Rainbow International Hotel
Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“week full board”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

great base, great food altho nedded bit more choice, v helpful waiter/ess.

Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    180
    95
    61
    90
See reviews for
84
202
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Our stay at this hotel was an excellent experience from start to finish. The room was perfectly adequate, beautifully clean, lovely bedding and attended every day. The bathroom was good and the shower worked well, better than some hotels we have used!
The food was incredible, if there wasn't something that suited you on the menu, then you must be extremely difficult to please! The restaurant service was excellent, the staff were friendly and efficient, without being over-bearing. The whole restaurant team worked like a well-oiled machine, under the supervision of the restaurant manager, Chris Chambers.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Having booked a five day bus trip for my husband and myself I, rather belatedly, decided to check out the hotel where we had experienced and enjoyed visits to the nighclub some twenty seven years previously. I was very concerned when I read that 72% of visitors would not recommend it and some of the comments filled me with dread. Anyway, I thought 'let's bite the bullet' and went armed with our own towels, pyjamas and nighties to wrap ourselves in and the intention of downing a few extras glasses of booze to take our minds off any problems ensuring a good night's sleep.

Having just returned I can say that, apart from the weather we had a really pleasant stay at the Rainbow. we stayed on the third floor ,Barbara Cartland. The room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed., - and more.. ... hair dryer, flat screen tv, coffee & tea making facilities (topped up regularly). Bathroom was spotless, modern and everything worked perfectly. Towels were clean and sweet smelling, were changed regularly, even though we often had 'Do not disturb' sign on door they were quietly left outside;
The choice and quality of food was excellent , everything was cooked to perfection.;;the meat was always lan and tender and the service helpful.
The location was good being a short walk to the sea front and because of the weather being poor throughout our stay we were glad of some of the amenities the hotel had to offer. The indoor swimming pool was an enjoyable way to pass some time on a rainy afternoon and the nightclub, which was open every night we were there had some good entertainment followed by good music to dance or listen to, whatever your preference.
The best aspect of the hotel has to be the food - A1, and my personal worst - I would like the nightclub to have stayed open later than 11.30 to 12.00.
To sum up, the hotel does not look very inviting from the outside and admittedly some of the furniture has seen better days but we did find it t o be clean and got the impression that they are working gradually on updating it;, which given its size could be a long and expensive job.
That said that did not detract from our enjoyment and we think that they got the important things right. Well done!.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

This is a hotel I will never forget that's for sure!
Reception- Nice lady on check-in, prompt and helpful. Told us the way to our rooms with no problems finding them via the lift.
Rooms- Well I have never had a room quite like it in a hotel! I was greeted by a 'stale' smoky smell which was not inviting. Room was not very clean at all! It was made up fine enough but it just felt dirty and the bathroom-well I think it needs a bit of an upgrade thats for sure, black mould around the tiles, brown stains in the bath, not good! I stayed with friends and we had 4 rooms on the 5th floor all with different coloured bathroom suites hence the name Rainbow?
Bar/Club- Can not comment as we did not use it.
Pool Area- Can not comment as we did not use it.
Breakfast- Ok! Nothing special, had worse but also had a lot better.

To sum it up the hotel needs one hell of face lift and a few quid spent on it. The grounds and car park were littered with rubbish and it did not look inviting at all. It is ok for one night on a stag/hen party etc but thats about it. Spend an extra couple of quid and stay at a Premier Inn or similar.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchestere
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

just spent a wonderfull week at the rainbow this hotel is old and in need of arefurb but
dth room and bed sheets where clean and tidy staff where very good and thne food can
only be described as excellent

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

This hotels website does not reflect the true image of this hotel. We have just returned after a weeks holiday there and it was absolutely terrible. The hotel itself is very dirty and the decor is totally outdated. The only facillity that was available was the indoor pool, the outdoor pool has apparantly been closed for over 12 months (though no mention of this on website), the sauna and steam room was not in use (not mentioned on website), the nightclub is not open and hasn't been for at least 12 months(not mentioned on website), the very large lounge area is not in use until last orders are served in the entertainment room( which is kept very dark so you cannot see how dirty and dated it is) and then you are asked to take your drinks and finish them in the "lounge area". The rooms are absolutley filthy, there was at least a quarter inch of dirt and dust around the headboard on the bed and the skirting boards, there was a film of dust on the carpet which made it look very dirty and you could barely see yourself in the mirror. The bedding was very tatty also. There was a thick black ring around the top of the toilet basin and there were hairs of ALL kinds all over the bathroom floor and bath. We had a patio area outside our room that had not seen a sweeping brush in YEARS. We paid £80 per night on a bed and breakfast basis and booked this hotel because of the way it is portrayed on it's website and we were totally conned it is NOTHING like the hotel on the website.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shotton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Stayed in room 142 (chillingworth) , its a family "quiet" room . Room itself was spacious , decor was good , beds were ok . This room is situated on the ground floor , overlooking the outdoor pool which was closed , i asked at reception "why" reply was , " i dont no , only the manager can answer that question . The cleaners of the room were brief and basic , they made 2 beds but wouldt do the bunk beds , didnt clean the bath , haphazzardly changed the wet towels . Had a look in room "144" and it also looked very good , situated next door but one to our room . The indoor pool was open but the changing room consisted of using the "Male" toilets , the womens toilet is undergoing refurbishment , the steam room and fitness room were closed with no apparent reason , the games room also closed . The breakfast was the same every morn and edible , tho the kids wernt keen . Total i paid was £600 for the 4 of us on a bed n b/fast tarrif which was about right . Dont think we will use the Rainbow next year .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.