We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainbow International Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow International Hotel to your Saves list
Rainbow International Hotel
Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rainbow International Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

This hotels website does not reflect the true image of this hotel. We have just returned after a weeks holiday there and it was absolutely terrible. The hotel itself is very dirty and the decor is totally outdated. The only facillity that was available was the indoor pool, the outdoor pool has apparantly been closed for over 12 months (though no mention of this on website), the sauna and steam room was not in use (not mentioned on website), the nightclub is not open and hasn't been for at least 12 months(not mentioned on website), the very large lounge area is not in use until last orders are served in the entertainment room( which is kept very dark so you cannot see how dirty and dated it is) and then you are asked to take your drinks and finish them in the "lounge area". The rooms are absolutley filthy, there was at least a quarter inch of dirt and dust around the headboard on the bed and the skirting boards, there was a film of dust on the carpet which made it look very dirty and you could barely see yourself in the mirror. The bedding was very tatty also. There was a thick black ring around the top of the toilet basin and there were hairs of ALL kinds all over the bathroom floor and bath. We had a patio area outside our room that had not seen a sweeping brush in YEARS. We paid £80 per night on a bed and breakfast basis and booked this hotel because of the way it is portrayed on it's website and we were totally conned it is NOTHING like the hotel on the website.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    180
    95
    61
    90
See reviews for
84
201
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shotton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Stayed in room 142 (chillingworth) , its a family "quiet" room . Room itself was spacious , decor was good , beds were ok . This room is situated on the ground floor , overlooking the outdoor pool which was closed , i asked at reception "why" reply was , " i dont no , only the manager can answer that question . The cleaners of the room were brief and basic , they made 2 beds but wouldt do the bunk beds , didnt clean the bath , haphazzardly changed the wet towels . Had a look in room "144" and it also looked very good , situated next door but one to our room . The indoor pool was open but the changing room consisted of using the "Male" toilets , the womens toilet is undergoing refurbishment , the steam room and fitness room were closed with no apparent reason , the games room also closed . The breakfast was the same every morn and edible , tho the kids wernt keen . Total i paid was £600 for the 4 of us on a bed n b/fast tarrif which was about right . Dont think we will use the Rainbow next year .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Rooms in need of re-modernisation. bed linen, towels and pillows grey in colour and stained. mattress very uncomfortable. Food very good and staff helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heanor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

just returned from a 3 night/4 day stay at the Rainbow..the room was clean and tidy,showed signs of age,but dont we all,nice tv and freeview channels,so had the full choice of news programmes....i used the pool daily and it was clean and warm and very pleasant...the location of the room could be awkward i suppose,but ya cant blame the present owners for how the hotel was built....and then the food,the food was lovely and the service in the dining room was fantastic,the staff are there to help,and if you ask them they will help you,carry your food back to your table,the food both at breakfast and dinner was really nice,looking at my waistline,i think it was too nice....on the whole we found our stya at the Rainbow perfect and very good value for the money...i only have one minor complaint,the Polish night porter was ignorant,negative and abrupt in his manner,,if he doesnt like living and working in our country,then maybe he should go back to Poland.I shall be returning to the Rainbow,and im sure that if i did have any problems that the hotel would respect my views and put right my complaints.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Dirty, filthy rooms, pillows, sheets grey in colour.
'Fawlty Towers' is alive & here.
Tour operator 'Newmarket' must also take some blame for using this hotel.
Do they check the rooms or just go for the cheapest discount.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Our rooms were dirty smelly, bed linen not ironed, towels stained, mattresses had seen better days. In our friends room it was just the same and the curtains had been stapled. We asked to be moved the other rooms were just as bad, plumbing sounded like machine guns. I could go on.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We found the hotel very clean and tidy; the bedrooms,bed linen and towels also very clean. The staff were very welcoming,pleasant and helpful. The food was excellent and we found the vegetarian option in the evening at the main meal was invariably very good. It would perhaps have been nice to have had vege sausages as an option at breakfast but there were plenty of other things to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.