We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time had by all!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow International Hotel to your Saves list
Rainbow International Hotel
Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
1 review
“Great time had by all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights whilst celebrating my mums 60th birthday. My partner, 7 month old baby and I had a huge family room which suited us perfectly and was nice and clean. The menu choice for the Saturday birthday meal was fabulous and tasted amazing! Everyone had a great time in the hotel's nightclub dancing the night away afterwards to the live entertainment.
We also made good use of the swimming pool which was a good temperature for my baby.
All in all, we had a superb weekend and staff's attentiveness made it such an enjoyable weekend for all of us who attended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    180
    95
    61
    90
See reviews for
84
202
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had another great stay in the Rainbow Hotel in Torquay. Great food, fun times and great live music in the night club, and all my nephews loved the pool. The staff are friendly and helpful and the location is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The food was superb in the evening hot and a great choice.The breakfasts let it down a little fine if you wanted an English breakfast every morning but there were no rolls to have a continental breakfast and the toasters they had to toast bread didnt work in every slot so if you came down when the restaurant opened in the morning you had a long queue for toast..toasters that work cant be that expensive surely

Saying that I would definately stay there again if I was visiting torquay as the hotel is centrally located for the seafront and town

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

i went with national holidays with my girlfriend we wasnt very happy we would have been happer in a tent it was that bad we bought some bleach to clean the bathroom before we used it save your money and go some where else.and the swiming pool wasnt clean to put a dog init. just stay away

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear jwl73,
Thank you for your comments. The only issue we have with your room is the bath does have some scarring at the base of it, but is perfectly clean. The swimming pool is cleaned externally every morning and afternoon and the water is checked every morning and afternoon and it is perfectly clean. Your comments do not reflect to the rest of your group that were with you on that holiday, so as you suggested perhaps you should stay away.

Roger - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welling
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

the hotel is great for the location just 5 mins walk to the beach, the food is great but the entertainment has really gone down hill since we last went they had different acts but with the same jokes and on weds they have a disco night which used to be excellent but all the DJ played was beatles and abba which was not disco music

Room Tip: ask for a room near the lift otherwise its loads of corridors and loads of steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here June 2013 as part of a package with coach firm TravelStyle (which is quite another story). This hotel is built on a slope so it follows that some rooms are downhill ! Well, after entering reception our room was down several flights of stairs totalling 41 steps (we counted them) and along meandering corridors ! So it was a case of don't forget anything when leaving your room to go out, because you couldn't exactly nip back to retrieve something you'd forgotten! However, on the plus side, the staff were very efficient and friendly, and a special mention must be made of the food which was excellent and without doubt the best food we have ever had as part of a coach trip package. All meals were buffet style without "fixed time" sittings.Full English breakfast of course and a carvery every night with a couple of alternative dishes if you wished, plus salads. The soups were particularly good. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Altogether an enjoyable stay, but unless I could guarantee a room with lift access or without a hike along "miles" of corridor, I would not go back.

Room Tip: I have only given the room 3/5 simply because of its location. Book a room that is close to the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themanatthehotel, O at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Geoff1938,
Thank you for your very nice comments about,the team, bedrooms and food. I will inform the team of your comments . However, as you had found, the building was built in 1860s and there are a lot of corridors and stairs in our south wing (75 Rooms) and we can do nothing about them I'm sorry to say.
But in our northwing ( 72 roooms ) most have lift access, I don@t know if you a asked for a room move if so we would have done our best to help.

I hope you do return to us again and you would be most welcome, but please next time give us a call afew days before you arrive and asked to be given a room in the north wing.

Roger Hulstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel stank the rooms are nothing like the website photoes. The best thing about the hotel is Paul the buffet chef he gives good hot meals and I bet his budget is crap other staff not very up on what's going on.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themanatthehotel, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments,
I gather you did not like your stay and please don't even think about returning,
We look after all our guests and our staff are superb and careing,
Paul is a great buffet chef but not in charge of the Kitchen we have a team in the back ensuring our 250 plus guests enjoy their stay.
Even though many of our guests are in the later years of their lives we give them great respect and attention which is far more than you do..
Roger Hulstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.