We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent i would defantly go again xx :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Trecarn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Trecarn Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Trecarn Hotel
Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
torque
1 review
“Exellent i would defantly go again xx :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

I have just recently came back from this extrodanery stay at the trecarn hotle. The foor was delisouse food and there was a very good veriaty. And also every single staff member always had a smile on there face and were always polight.The bedrooms were great too comfey beds a crystal clean bathroom,kettle and even a dressing table with a mirrow. When i stayed there i was sad to leave. The entertainment was great there was a comidian a singer and there was raffle and bingo. Mind one of the young staff members were very entertaining to watch as they served the food lol. But i would defantly reocomend the Trecarn hotle to anybody staying in torque. xx

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    269
    150
    85
    76
See reviews for
96
396
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
challisfamily
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

well this was really bad was given a room just off the dinning room think it was near the staff s room as nosie from 6.30.am the paper was peeling heating did not work toliet was a container before being flashed away.room242 changed next day to room 159 this was next to a generator cupboard. paper peeling window rusty heating still not working bath this time had to go down and get a cup to put water over my head to wash hair. water came intyo parts of hotel when it rain ballroom had no curtains at the very large window the tracks were there but no curtain which made the room cold hard chair to sit on in the balloom only 2 sofas in the hotel. usual tick at bar £10 in ther tips jar to make you feel guilty charged 5p for tap water. food cold breakfast orange and apple juice watered down soup waterdown. it also say its in it owngrounds not it detached from the building each side not grounds just narrow paths all round it . if you are a smoker i am not you are well catered for table chairs cloths to wipe chairs after rain they have put in new steps to the this hotel no ramps for people in wheel chair but they take guest in wheel chairs come on shearing get the hotel update and the catering sorted out or close the place down it terrible terrilbleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee dont go

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

In spite of all the detremental reports, that I have read on this site, I can only ask what people expect for their money. My Wife and I, along with our four friends, found this hotel very acceptable, our rooms were clean and tidy,we had room no 223 in the annex. Although the decor of the hotel in general, was a bit jaded, The dining rooms were pleasantly fitted out and the food was of an acceptable standard. I understand that Shearings are to revamp this hotel in the new year,according to the night porter.The entertainment was very good, capped by Steve Laister of whom my party found hilarious considering his refusal to do smutty jokes.All in all we had an excellent four days and look forward to visiting this hotel again in the future.I must say the £20.00 per person bar voucher was a bonus. Remember a holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I booked with trepidation having read the poor reviews.
I was very pleasantly surprised.
This was my first holiday with Shearings and the hotel is part of their value range.
The hotel seemed to have an ongoing process of updating and we found our room and public rooms of good standard.
The hotel is situated in a pleasant area,short distance back from the Babbacombe cliffs.
The buses, a few minutes away, run every 15 minutes to Torquay (Harbour). All local rides are free to over 60s.
There is a lift to the beach (seasonal) and some good local attractions and walks.
Food was excellent, with a good choice of 5 main courses for dinner.
Good cabaret nearly every evening, also dancing, bingo and quizzes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Having read all the previous reviews, I was rather apprehensive as I had already booked a 5 day holiday there. On arrival, we were all given a warm reception by Simon the assistant manager. My room was very clean and I could not find any fault in any way with it. The food was plentiful and appetising, with plenty to choose from, off the menu. Nightly entertainment was marvelous and well attended. I am aiming to book another holiday there soon and would will hope that other people reading these reviews, wont be put off by the negative comments by some.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Having read the previous reviews on here regarding this hotel, I was filled with apprehension as I had already booked to stay there for 5 days! On arriving I was met with warming hospitality by the assistant manager. My room was very clean and I didn't notice any of the discrepencies that had been written about in previous negative reviews. Part of the hotel was still being refurbished. The food was marvelous, plentiful and appetising. I gave compliments to the chef on his cuisine. Nightly entertainment was very good and well attended by the other guests. Simon the assistant manager was very helpful and always did his best to cater to guests needs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The food was really nice, the staff lovely, they were too good for that hotel, needs 2 close down for 6 mths, and sort the bedrooms out, terrible!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Trecarn Hotel

Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Trecarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay
Bay Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Trecarn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.