We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day national holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Trecarn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Trecarn Hotel
Save
You added Bay Trecarn Hotel to your Saves list
Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
hull england
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“4 day national holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we have just had a lovely 4 day holiday at the trecarn hotel torquay, and we could not fault any thing
(we did worry a little after some of the posts) we where given a nice room on the ground floor,the food was good and the service second to none our spanish waitress marisa was exceptional.there was no problem with the bar service all very well organised so thanks to steve and all at the trecarn and national for a great break.mr & mrs wilson

Room Tip: refurbed room if poss also small lift so ground floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Big thanks to the Wilsons for your lovely review! I will pass on your kind words to Marissa as I am sure she will be pleased to read her efforts are appreciated. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    250
    128
    82
    70
See reviews for
91
360
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we travelled down to Torquay with national holdays we had a really good driver, for driving, did not care about the passengers but a really good driver the hotel was not bad our room was alright but not what you would call clean but the bed was good and I suppose for a weekend that is all you need there was entertainment at night which wasen,t bad the meals were quite good but really small portions and the Gala dinner we were promised turned out to be the same as usual but with a glass of wine ..we travelled 10miles to be picked up for this holiday as national do not pick up at Peterlee or Hartlepool which is a designated pick up point that is where these holidays fall down especially when returning when you have to use public transport to get home at 6.00 o clock on a night it is not worth the "CHEW"you have to get home

Room Tip: make sure when when you book your holiday the pick up point is near where you live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your four star review. I read that you were not totally happy with your travel arrangements but unfortunately I am not in a position to respond to that. Hope you will consider visiting us again, and if you wanted to travel independantly, we could take that booking direct a the hotel for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have just had a 4 day break with National holidays at this hotel and after reading some of the previous reviews I was worried as to what to expect. On arrival I was pleasantly surprised, there was no musty damp smell that had been mentioned, the room we were allocated to (158) was clean - looked like it had been recently decorated - the only fault was that the windows needed replacing. In fact I would say that all the hotel windows need upgrading and what a difference that would make. The food was of a very good standard with really good service from hard working staff. Torquay is easily accessed by a regular bus service near to the hotel and Babbacombe centre (where the hotel is situated) itself was only a short walk away. If you are thinking of using this hotel, I would say go ahead and book it, we were not disappointed at all. Remember, if you want the Ritz then go there and pay the Ritz prices. I would certainly use it again without hesitation

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Coincidentally I have just finished obtaining quotes to replace the majority of our windows in the hotel, quite a task as you can well imagine. I think I still have a headache! It is pleasing for me to read reviews of people with realistic expectations, and I do believe we offer a decent holiday for the prices we charge. Hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel between 7th and 10th October 2013 having read a fair number of reviews I went on this break with a bit of trepidation. In summary it was 'like the curates egg', eg good in parts. My room (201) had been refurbished but was no better than average. The staff were very good particularly in the restaurant though my accolade goes to the chef and his staff for an excellent menu well cooked with plenty of choice. Very disappointed with the 'Cabaret' in fact it probably contravened the Trade Descriptions Act to call it such. Overall I would stay there again and go somewhere else for my entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
So pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We are still refurbishing areas of the hotel and it is a long process. Recently we have started working our way through the corridors as previously we have focused on rooms. Sorry the entertainment was not to your liking. This is an area that is hardest to please everyone as we all have different tastes. It could have been worse though, I could have been singing to you! Hope you do consider returning for another visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hired this hotel for a surprise 50th party, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the function room was great, would highly recommend it! it was also very good value for money, and the hotel did bed and breakfast for those who wanted to stay over
overall great satisfaction from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for posting such a lovely review. We have recently refurbished our Four Seasons function room and it is generating a lot of positive comments like yours. I am glad you enjoyed your function and hope you can recommend us to friends and family for any upcoming functions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We had room 148 which was refurbished we was very happy with it...food is very nice...helpful staff....would stay here again..clean and tidy...a 15mins bus journey into the centre of torquay..just wished the weather was better..but you cannot always guarntee sunny weather....our coach driver was great...he was very imformative..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Really appreciate your five star review. We always try to deliver great service and happy holidays at a competitive price so when people are happy with their stay it makes a difference to myself and all the staff. I will pass on your kind words and hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Room 180 Upgraded room ! !!!
New Wardrobe
New dressing table
New paint work ??
New Carpet ! had more wrinkles than my old grannies face, Very badly fitted and constituted a trip hazard.
Bathroom, not upgraded, Hole in Sink, Rust on hand rail, Chips in bath Shower head badly scaled up had to run around the bath to get wet.
Double Wall socket right hand side, plugs would not enter. Every now and then the power would trip out
They installed a new shower head when asked
Bay window, R/Hand no handle fitted when asked
Towels changed daily but they were threadbare and looked off white due to age
When we first asked if this room was indeed an upgrade the receptionist said oh yes you should see the ones that are not !!!!
food was very good and Ben and Antonio in the restaurant were nice and attentive
Basic Hotel but if its to be improved do the basics but do them well, It does not take much to keep a room clean,
if someone falls in this room due to a very Badly fitted carpet sue them, we spoke to the "Manager" but he gave the impression that he didn't really care, Next group in the room soon so who cares seem to be the attitude, but all for a little thought and care it could be so much better, Radiators do not work if you are cold you have to ask for a heater.It was a cheap holiday and the owners of the Bay group cant really care as they would inspect and maintain with due diligence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveKing1969, General Manager at Bay Trecarn Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am afraid that I do not recall a conversation with you regarding your room and I would certainly not dismiss a genuine complaint. It does read that problems you encountered were remedied to the best of our ability. I wont attempt to appease you through this medium but I will apologise for the issues you had that affected your stay. if we did enter into the star rating system we would indeed consider ourselves a "two star" establishment, and charges for the holiday packages we offer do reflect this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Trecarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Trecarn Hotel

Address: Palermo Road, Torquay TQ1 3NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in its own grounds in a quiet residential area, the Trecarn hotel is just a short stroll from the Babbacombe Downs and the delightful village of St Marychurch. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were the subject of an extensive refurbishment which has been very well received by our guests. The hotel now benefits from well-appointed lounge areas, large entertainment suite and bar. The restaurant has been completely re-styled and now offers a spacious and contemporary dining experience. After enjoying the renowned entertainments the hotel has to offer, you should also sleep better than ever as we have also refurbished 62 of the hotel's bedrooms! The Trecarn Hotel is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area of Torbay and the delightful South Devon Coast. There is an excellent bus service taking you to town centre and beyond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trecarn Hotel Torquay
Bay Trecarn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Trecarn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.