We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bute Court

Bute Court
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bute Court
Save
You added Bute Court to your Saves list
Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was the second time i / we have stayed at the Bute court Hotel,as with most hotels you can always find something to moan about,but with the Bute you get good old fashioned service with a smile,Manuel as he his known by our group is a great laugh,the food is excellent ,and nothing is to much trouble,in fact all the staff are very good.The rooms might be a bit basic,but they are fine, and they are clean.Although the hotel is rated as 2* the service is 5* and we will be going back again next year.Thanks to everyone at the hotel,looking forward to next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Looks very impressive inside, but once you have a better look you see what is behind. The bed is probably the worst I have ever slept in... way too soft with way too many springs and squaking every time someone moves on it...
Shower has no curtains, which is not a big issue, but when the shower cable does not reach your shoulders (and I am only 168cm) that is a bit of an issue...
Anyway the room looked quite clean.
Not sure if it is worth what we paid for, but was a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Was part of a coach trip.... Hotel to look at outside was in need of a spruce up.
Once inside the decore was extremely tastful - our room could have been bigger but it had all we needed. The hotel was pretty full when we first arrived and we could have swapped our room later - but didnt bother.
Staff - especially the waiters were wonderful, helpful and funny. The food was very nice and there was always a choice. The rest of the staff were also great company. The entertainment each evening was very good. Close to the sea - walking distance through the park or down the road...5 minutes. Disappointed that the outdoor swimming pool was closed - but that was due to Torbay council closing a lot of these swimming pools due to health and safety.....

Room Tip: Our room was a twin bedded - small but Ok for sleeping purposes - beds comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

WE were made very welcome nice room.good food and plenty.excellent staff especially the dinning room staff JOHN and COLIN .entertainment was good especially quiz night with COLIN it was a laugh a minute i hope the staff are told how much we appreciate them for making our holiday a good one.please give JOHN and COLIN our regards and thanks for making our holiday complete we were named by Colin mother and daughter.hope to see you again soon

Room Tip: 207 room good view spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Just came back from BUTE COURT HOTEL, where we had a very happy holiday, my sister, my mother and mother-in-law who are both disabled,were given ground floor rooms and all the hotel is accessible for disabled guests. The food was very good and plenty of it,well cooked and tasty. The waiters were pleasant and helpful especially John, but i found Colin a little OTT,who circled the dining room like Tommy Cooper instead of being discreet, constantly drew attention to himself. The hotel is conveniently placed near the bay and beach and a taxi to the high street, even with 2 wheelchairs in the boot only cost £4.50. Jillie the monday night entertainer was excellent and all round we had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and would not hesitate to return in the future

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

My friends and I have just had a wonderful holiday at the Bute Court Hotel in Torquay. I cannot understand why it is only rated a 2 star. Our rooms were spacious and clean with a regular stock of tea/coffee and milk. The staff were courteous and helpful at all times. I'm not used to slumming and do like good, clean polite service and an ample surpply of food and the hotel all met my requirements Thank you and without doubt we will come again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Considering this is a 2 star hotel we thought it was excellent value for the price. It was overall clean the food was of good quality taking in to account the 2 stars. There was enough to keep us all happy. My only suggestion there would be for the waiting on staff not to be in quite so much of a hurry to get the feeding done I felt as though I was being rushed all the time.
We stayed for 4 nights Monday to Friday morning. The entertainment on Monday and Tuesday was very very good. Wednesday was a guy who tried to take off Mike Reid and failed miserably he was going to do his act no matter what was said or done, he was rude to a member of our party. So Bob you need to learn that the customer is always right. Thursday nights entertainment was by one of the staff Colin. Colin had us in stitches all evening and as he is employed as a waiter come other things he did the hotel proud.
We slept in a room at the front of the hotel, and because where we live is so quite we were woken every morning by the noise levels of Road Sweepers, Bin Men, Glass collection and all sorts of other noises. So if your not used to noise of any sort suggest you opt for a room at the back of the hotel
So overall my advice would be if your looking for a hotel that is cheap and cheerful this did the job for us.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bute Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bute Court

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Bute Court Hotel Torquay
Bute Court Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bute Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.