We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, room & views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincombe Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lincombe Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Lincombe Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JX, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Xmas 4N Package
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful staff, room & views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My daughter booked me in here last minute. The staff were extremely friendly and even bumped me up to a double room!
The ocean views were beautiful, with 3 windows looking out! The bed was of excellent quality, a solid wood sleigh style.
I unfortunately missed the full english that was included due to my early departure, but the porter kindly provided me with coffee and toast to ensure I didn't leave with an empty stomach.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    47
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
172
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
poole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is fabulous, stayed for three nights for my birthday on 7th December, they had decorated our room with a balloon and chocolates which was a lovely touch! We can't give one negative comment on this hotel, all the staff are so friendly and can't do enough to help you! Christmas decorations are so elegantly done as is the hotel. The food is great, both in the hotel and bar! We stayed here in 1982 a few times and the hotel was nice then, but so much better now under new management! It was nice to see the original manager David again, and yes we recognised him after 30yrs! Lovely open fires as well!

Room Tip: stayed in a gold room no 12 Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just recently come back after a weekend break with our friends. Our Gold room had just been decorated and was absolutely beautiful as was the en suite.
The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and the Hotel was trimmed up with gorgeous Christmas decorations.

The evening entertainment was excellent.

We stayed for 4 nights BB&EM the breakfast was self service and everything was very tasty and replenished regularly, the evening meals we felt let our stay down, ever so slightly. The dinner on the Sunday evening for the men in our party was disappointing they ordered beef which came extremely rare and very gristly, I gave my husband some of my Turkey as he couldn't cut through the slices of beef, all the roast dinners came with a jiu instead of gravy, however this made everything taste sweet. We also felt rushed, we would of liked a little time in between the courses. We did mention about the meat at the time but perhaps the waiters ought to just check if things are ok with the meals.

When we did check out we were asked about our stay, we mentioned about our bad meal and the management was very apologetic and reimbursed us for the meals which was extremely good of them.
We have already booked for next year and can't wait to return.
We'd like to wish everyone a very Happy Christmas.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel clean rooms, fabulous meals, set in a beautiful area.
Walking distance into Torquay for the able bodied. Or a short taxi ride cost about £4.
So much to see and do in and around Torquay the zoo, model village, bygones, good shopping area, beautiful beach and seafront, a lovely cliff walk,
For the young plenty of bars, and night life.
Good restaurants if you are not having full board, plenty of cafés for snacks, coffee or Devonshire cream teas.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We pride ourselves on every aspect of our hotel and are glad that you appreciated the lovely food that we have on offer. As you said, we are ideally situated, just a short walk or cheap taxi ride from the harbour and shops of Torquay, so great for those who want to get out and about.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a wonderful 3 night break at this lovely hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful, just can't do enough for you. Our room was newly decorated and we had so much space. the Christmas decorations were really nice, made us feel really festive.We just can't fault this hotel, looking forward to going back next year.Thanks for a great short break.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad that you like our festive decorations, we hope you have a lovely Christmas and look forward to seeing you again in the New Year.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this hotel, visited for a peaceful weekend away with my boyfriend who booked a superior room as a surprise! Lovely room, only minor thing was that it didn't have a bath but that didn't detract from the stay. Brilliant staff, especially on the Saturday breakfast shift and the receptionists who were brilliant. I said it at the time and I'll say it again, the plaque may say 3* but the service and the whole feel is very much 4*. Congratulations guys, brilliant stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettandJo, Owner at Lincombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a lovely review, thank you so much. We are always delighted when a guests expectations are exceeded.
Our aim has always been to provide 4 star surroundings and service for our guests, and we are very glad that you thought this was the case.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used the Loncombe Hall as a stopover before sailing to France the following day. The hotel is not a five star hotel, but the staff and the service are. They made us so welcome, we actually felt they were delighted we were staying there. Food was very nice, dinner and breakfast and we had a lovely room overlooking the front of the hotel and the lights of Torquay. Our en-suite bathroom was so clean that it felt as if no one had ever used it before. We will definitely go back if we are in that neck of the woods again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lincombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincombe Hall Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Hotel of the Year 2012 and Silver 2013 for South Devon, Bronze for Devon and 4th Place in SW England Hotel of the Year 2012-13 and recently undergone a £1million refurbishment, the Lincombe Hall Hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the harbour and marina, upmarket restaurants and shops. We offer tastefully decorated bedrooms, many with sea views, free WiFi across the whole hotel, a beautiful heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, large patio, heated small indoor pool and jacuzzi, ample free parking, spacious bar and lounge areas with entertainment most nights in extensive grounds. Choose from any of our newly refurbished rooms including oversized Gold Rooms with sea views, large Superior rooms, Family rooms, some interconnecting or one of our upgraded Standard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lincombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincombe Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.