We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lovely hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southbank Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southbank Hotel to your Saves list
Southbank Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
S wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Lovely hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from another fab stay at the Southbank. We have been returning to this hotel for at least nine years, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything you would need. Ian and Marie are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast was included, which we could not fault, with a good variety to choose from, especially if you have children who are fussy eaters. The hotel is perfectly situated, only five minute walk to seafront, with lots of amenities nearby, including the Riviera Centre, perfect for families to go swimming. Overall I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and wouldn't stay anywhere else! See you next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no.3 which was perfect for families, as children had their own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
40
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just returned from another fabulous stay at the Southbank. The hotel is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance of the beach, town centre and local shops. The rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated & spotlessly clean. The owners, Ian & Marie are so friendly & helpful, nothing is too much trouble. They have great local knowledge and always have time for a chat. The breakfasts each morning are the highlight of my son's stay. There is so much variety and all freshly prepared to order. Really sets you up for the day. The only drawback is that as the hotel is on a main road, the traffic noise is quite noticable if, like me, you like to sleep with a window open. However it was never so noisy as to keep me awake. We have stayed at this hotel for the last 2 summer holidays, and can highly recommend it. Looking forward to coming back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day break in Torquay and stayed at the Southbank Hotel situated just a 5 minute walk from the beach, shops, and restaurants. The hotel was very clean and modern, with beautiful gardens and private car park. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Our stay included breakfast each morning which was very enjoyable. A choice of a full English or continental breakfast, cereal, porridge, fruit, yogurts, toast, tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. Our room (situated at the front of the hotel) was clean, modern and very comfortable and a good size for 2 people. Would highly recommend this hotel and would defiantly book here again on our next visit to Torquay. Well done The Southbank! Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

On arrival we were met by Ian and he was so helpful. I was unable to get my car parked but he offered to find me a space. In fact he gave up his own space for me. Very helpful in every respect even when we had difficulty getting shower to work. Was what it said. Only better. Not even 5 minutes from seafront. Breakfast was brilliant and again nothing was too much bother. Daughter had the full breakfast one morning and struggled to finish, so much of it. The rooms were modern, clean and very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Torquay for a break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Once again we have done our yearly trip to Torquay . We stayed ourr favourite hotel where we get very spoilt and nothing is to much trouble . The hotel is spotless , in a good location 5 minutes from the beach and the town through a handy multi story car park . Marie the hostess is fantastic and Ian helps as well We just wish the days would not fly by so quickly. We will return

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at the Southbank for 3 nights whilst attending a conference and I had a lovely comfortable stay. The rooms are spotless and well appointed with everything you would need including wifi. The breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh to suit. Ian is a nice man and nothing is too much trouble. The location is fine as everything is within walking distance. There is a small but comfortable bar and food is available in the evening should it be required. The Riviera Conference centre is 5 minuttes away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed in the single ensuite room and was very impressed with the comfy bed, spacious room, stylish decor and friendly helpful staff. Very much recommend this hotel and was actually sad to leave as it felt so homely!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Hotel

Address: 15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Family Hotel in Torquay
#7 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southbank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.