We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Crown Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   83 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Can't fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My sister and I were made very welcome by Lynda and John. Our room was spotless as were the dining room and the entrance hall. Lynda and John were always happy to help if we had any queries. Breakfast was excellent. The food was of a high standard and we particularly liked the lovely jars that the jams and marmalades were in. Lynda and John - the jars we used are still there of course!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
158
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is one of the best guest houses we've stayed in. The accommodation lacks nothing, the breakfast is very good and Lynda and John thoroughly deserve all the positive comments left by other guests on this site. The Crown Lodge is about a 10 minute stroll from the sea and 20 minutes from the town centre, but it's a pleasant walk and, if like us, you arrive by train, Torre Station is very close by.

Room Tip: Room 7 is at the front of the house overlooking the road (through 3 windows), but there was no disce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited with my boyfriend for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Our room was super clean, I'm over the top when it comes to cleanliness and even the tiles and skirting were spotless. The bed was very comfortable and better than a lot of 4*/5* hotels I've stayed in. Breakfast was delicious! The eggs in particular were really well cooked, I usually hate fried eggs but I loved them both mornings. Just a small, straight walk to the seafront. Couldn't fault it if I wanted to. Lovely people, lovely place, I hope we can go back at some point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights, and were made to feel very welcome. The room was spotless, comfortable and with lots of little extras which made our stay more enjoyable e.g. hairdryer, toiletries, good selection of teas & coffees etc. Lots to choose from for breakfast, food extremely plentiful and well presented. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebbw vale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the crown lodge for 2 nights we had a lovley welcome on arrival , the place is spotlessly clean and well maintainedeverything that you need to make your stay comfortable is at hand, the food was well presented and always cooked fresh, the breakfast had plenty of selection , and the evening meal was excellent we will be going back next year

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Crown Lodge over the weekend and thought it was a lovely little B&B! The breakfast menu was incredibly extensive for such a little place and the owners were so friendly and accommodating.

Although it's a little walk to the town centre I managed to walk there, around and back at almost 8 months pregnant and it's a lovely walk past all the gardens and along the seafront.

We had a sunny little room with everything we needed - digital TV, clean and comfy bed, toiletries, tea & coffee and the nice little touches here and there were lovely.

We always got a parking space although there are only about 6 spaces, lots of parking on the road outside too.

Would definitely stay here again and am actually getting hungry now thinking about the breakfast...! Was a lovely weekend. Thanks!

PS - make sure you visit Cockington Village and eat at the Drum Inn. Was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

we booked this trip with buy a gift and could not have chosen a better place
everything perfect ,the place is spotless, we had room no 1 ground floor walkin shower tv hair dryer great breakfast plenty of choice and lynda will also do you a evening meal but i hope you are a big eater ,bus and torre train station at top of road few minutes walk
lynda and john very friendly and helpful john even took us to torquay station when we left
would recommend the crown lodge to anyone
g g

Room Tip: only 6 rooms allvery good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Full marks again, thank you so much! We agree the transport system around here is very good, and time permitting we are always happy to collect and drop off people at Torquay main station (if you can't get on/off at Torre station which is, as you say,at the top of the road) or coach station.
Glad you were happy with your choice - Crown Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an Edwardian family home, Crown Lodge has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated to provide highly recommended 4* Guest Accommodation within the main B&B area of Torquay. Your hosts, John & Lynda have recently been awarded a silver accolade by Visit Britain and a TripAdvisor Excellence award for the high standards achieved at Crown Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lodge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.