We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crown Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Crown Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   83 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

was welcomed and shown a perfect room which catered for our needs. they went the extra mile and provided sewing kit. iron & ironing board, safe. the tv had a dvd player aswell and a supply of newish dvds to watch.
breakfast was superb, the choices that you were given and that they were cooked from the finest products and fresh aswell.
I would recommend staying at the crown lodge to everyone and will be visiting there again and enjoy the hospitality that was shown to us yet.

Room Tip: which ever room you are given they are all of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much for posting it. It is thanks to people like you leaving such nice reviews, that it takes me ages to get around to replying to them - we're so busy!
Look forward to seeing you again,
regards,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
164
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just came back from a 2 day break bought by our son on buy a gift, So glad we chose the crown lodge out of all the places we could choose from because it was exactly as I would like to find the place where im to stay, inviteing,very clean and had everything you would want. Yes i would definately recommend this place to anyone, even if they were fussy!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was a front room, the traffic didnt bother me. it had two seats in bay win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We really appreciate reviews. Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us,
regards,
Joh and Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything was just perfect, breakfast was stunning and the location was perfect (just a 20 minute walk to harbor/ town or a cheep cab ride). My boyfriend and I were made to feel welcome from arrival though to check out. We both agree that everything was fantastic and will defently be returning to this B&B later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Crown Lodge, glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you later in the year,
regards,
John and Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Crown Lodge Hotel, a gift from our daughter. Absolutely brilliant place, everything we could have asked for. After been warmly greeted by Lynda we were shown to our room and shown where everything was, she then asked if we would like milk for our tea and promptly brought a jug of fresh milk, much nicer than the cartons. In the room were toiletries, iron and board, hair drier, fridge (very handy to keep the wine cool), fluffy white towels and a lovely comfy bed.
The breakfast was excellent with a choice of full English, yogurts, juice, cereal and fruit, plus more. The hotel was close to the bus stop into Torquay and railway station, The walk into Torquay was approx half an hour away. Thank you for a lovely stay John and Lynda, hopefully we will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back some day, too.
Thank you for taking the time to do a review.
best wishes,
John and Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a two-night stay at Crown Lodge and found the experience first rate.
The room was very clean and comfortable and offered all the facilities one would need.
Breakfast great with good choice and no problem about asking for things a bit different from standard. We noticed they did offer an evening meal but we had both nights out.
John was most helpful in advising which restaurants to try for evening meal and generously gave us a discount voucher which he had for one of the restaurants we chose.
Ideally situated close to Torquay central area, harbour and beach. No need to use the car if you can do just a little walking.
Ample car park for the size of the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us,
best wishes,
John and Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Crown Lodge and all I can say is...that it lives up to its fantastic reviews. We received a warm welcome and our room was on the ground floor with a wet room that was ideal for anyone with a disability. Beds were comfortable and there was plenty of storage space.
Breakfasts were amazing with a great choice of cereals, fruit and a varied cooked selection.
We would recommend this hotel to all our friends visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us,
best wishes,
John and Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything just as it should be room gorgeous and spotless wonderful wet room excellent breakfast and very friendly hosts would recommend to everyone visiting torquay central location to town harbour beach

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Can't get better than perfect, can you! Pleased to know you consider us as that.
Best Wishes,
John and Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an Edwardian family home, Crown Lodge has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated to provide highly recommended 4* Guest Accommodation within the main B&B area of Torquay. Your hosts, John & Lynda have recently been awarded a silver accolade by Visit Britain and a TripAdvisor Excellence award for the high standards achieved at Crown Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lodge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.