We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Crown Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   83 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Somerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely warm and friendly hosts. Everywhere immaculate, lovely comfy bed with lovely pillows, Towels were amazingly soft and pure white.Little extra touches such as cotton wool balls, nail clippers, emery boards etc, great attention to detail. Breakfast was the best we ever had anywhere we have stayed before and so much choice. Close to the beach and harbour. We would definately come again and reccomend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for giving us such a nice review and for recommending us to others. We hope to see you again some day,
regards,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
158
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our Anniversary trip for four nights. We were very pleasantly surprised when we walked inside and even more surprised when we saw the room. The entire place is immaculately clean. Very high standards. John & Lynda were very welcoming and pleasant. They really gave it a homely feel. They were even kind enough to offer a jug of milk on arrival.

This hotel is on par with some of the higher level hotels, but on a personal level. Everything that you needed was in the room, if it wasn't you could ask. The beds were extremely comfortable, had a very good sleep every night. Breakfast was wonderful and very tasty. We looked forward to it every morning. We had a cooked breakfast every morning, but there are other options as well.

Would very highly recommend staying here and we will be suggesting this place to others. We will be staying here if we are in Torquay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad we were able to contribute in some very small way to the enjoyment of your anniversary.
Best wishes
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent B & B and highly recommended. We stayed june 2012 for one night the room was extremely comfortable, nice luxury amenities, linens, towels etc the room was spotless.
John & Lynda were very friendly, caring and helpfull Breakfast selection was above average, they offered pretty much everything
Thank you both for a lovely stay.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
First review of the year and such a nice one - thank you very much.
Hope to see you later in the year,
Best Wishes,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Crown Lodge as the last night of a camping and B&B road trip around the south west of England and upon arrival we were warmly met and given a surprise upgrade to a larger room. We had hoped our stay would be restful at the end of the holiday but had our expectations more than matched. Our room was stylish, spacious and excellent value for money coming equipped with fridge and DVD player and our host was incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and filling and the only downside to our entire stay was the Torquay weather which was dark and damp. I would happily return to Crown Lodge and on a brighter day to the town itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Yes, sorry we can't do much about the weather and it's not much better at the moment. We don't have any snow though! It is generally a degree or two milder than most of the U.K. throughout the year, so maybe we'll see you in the spring.
Thank you for your review, and glad your stay at Crown Lodge was a pleasant one.
Best wishes,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is the best place for me in Torquay. Every time i visit Torbay i like to stay at this hotel. It's clean, close by the city center, close by the train station (Torr), and the staff is just excellent in welcoming the guest and explaining everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
It's always a pleasure to see you too Nasser! Hope your friend's wedding goes well this month.
Regards,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed for 3 night weekend break. Would highly recommend this b&b to others. John and Lynda were very welcoming. Room was spotless, with fridge in room a nice added touch. Plenty of choice at breakfast, all of which was delicious. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry it has taken me so long to reply, but as we probably told you we went on our annual holidays on 1st December and we haven't been back long.
We are open again now though, and hope to see you sometime in 2013!
Regards,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We chose this B&B through the internet. The accomodation details seemed to meet our needs. On arrival we were made very welcome and immediately felt completely at home. The room was very comfortable, clean, with everything a guest could wish for. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful providing additional information which you would not always get from a much more expensive hotel. The breakfast menu was extensive and meals could be tailored to your individual needs. Every meal was delicious and plentiful. We enjoyed our stay and would be more than happy to return. Furthermore, we would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda L, Owner at Crown Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry it has taken so long to reply, but as we probably told you we went off on our annual holidays on 1st December.
Best Wishes,
Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an Edwardian family home, Crown Lodge has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated to provide highly recommended 4* Guest Accommodation within the main B&B area of Torquay. Your hosts, John & Lynda have recently been awarded a silver accolade by Visit Britain and a TripAdvisor Excellence award for the high standards achieved at Crown Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crown Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lodge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.