We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay. Thoroughly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Crown Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   83 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic stay. Thoroughly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I travel a lot for business and pleasure and this is just the place I love to stay in. Run by a very friendly couple. Excellent, clean accommodation and the right price. A fantastic breakfast with a great range of options. Thoroughly recommended and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
158
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
highworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

we were met by lynda a nice and friendly lady and shown our superior room where we spent two nights in a very clean comfortable and quiet room a great nights sleep followed by a superb breakfast if your looking for some where to stay in torquay this ones for you

Room Tip: great to if you are disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I travel all over the UK, week in week out, staying in hotels and B+B's, and I have to say this place is really exceptional. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are well looked after.
The room I had was perfect, and the attention to quality and detail is evident is everything from the bedding, furniture, toiletries and through to the food and decor.
As I said in the title, this is a real gem, and I should know as I've stayed in hundreds of places.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

It was 9om @ night when my Family & I turned up at this guest house after being let down completely on our arrival to our booked accommadation.
I am disabled and noticed that this guest house had disabled facilities and so we knocked the door to enquire.
The owners were fantastic they took us all in, made us so welcome.
The property was so clean and comfortable just a pleasure to stay in. The breakfast was lovely and the whole experience was such a pleasure. We intend to return here for the forseeable future.
The disabled facilities are excellent, and all the little extras are such a great touch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swadlincote
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Very friendly and helpful owners.......comfortable and well appointed room........breakfast to die for..........

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Very welcoming arrival, room tastefully decorated , well stocked welcoming tray mini fridge and even bedside mints. Owners very friendly and knowledgable regarding area and places to eat. Breakfast wide selection of juices, cereal and the full english excellent, all local produce, bacon and sausages delicious, nothing to much trouble, no hesitation in rebooking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

This will be our fourth visit to this Hotel this coming year. Lynda and John our excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The food is wonderful and the breakfast is the best that we have had, anywhere before, good selection of cereal's, fruit and cooked items, with a wide selection. We cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough, and the cleanliness of the rooms above what you would expect. The rooms are very comfortable with all the amenities you would require, hope to be returning many times in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Avenue Rd, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an Edwardian family home, Crown Lodge has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated to provide highly recommended 4* Guest Accommodation within the main B&B area of Torquay. Your hosts, John & Lynda have recently been awarded a silver accolade by Visit Britain and a TripAdvisor Excellence award for the high standards achieved at Crown Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crown Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lodge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.