We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb rooms, service and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iona Torquay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iona Torquay to your Saves list
Hotel Iona Torquay
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb rooms, service and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A seven day family holiday for three in August, B&B. It was Very friendly especially the dog Chip. There were Very tasty breakfasts, especially the fresh fruit salad, and the rooms were very comfortable and well decorated and furnished. I would recommend it to anyone.
Gwynneth

Room Tip: ask for superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    27
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
93
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely 3 night break at the hotel Iona with our 2 small dogs in August. Marita was very friendly from the point she greeted us at the front door.
The room we had was at the front of the hotel and had a balcony. Lovely high ceilings, tv, fridge, coffee making facilities and was very clean and tidy. Breakfast hosted a good variety on the menu and my wife said the poached eggs were cooked to perfection. Very lovely hotel and very friendly owners. Looking at most of the hotels on grosvenor road run down this really is a hidden gem in Torquay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned from a seven night stay DBB with my parents and Freddie, our 2 year old westie. Everything about this hotel was perfect we were all made so welcome including Freddie who had a lovely time meeting Chip. The food was excellent, a wide range at breakfast, choice of evening meal excellent also a good range of vegetarian meals (even though we are not vegetarian we did order off veggie menu) and all prepared fresh. The cleanliness all round hotel excellent.

Roy and Marita were friendly, helpful and all round excellent hosts and the times we saw their children they were always polite and respectful.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, hopefully one day we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Myself and my mum stayed there for one night so we could find a property for my parents to rent for a while. I was very pleasantly surprised to stay in a beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Marita and Roy (the owners) were really helpful and helped us in our quest. I would absolutely recomend the Iona Hotel.
I look forward to going there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A very nice hotel I have stayed there b 4 was as good this time as it was last time love little dog and staff great breakfast was brilliant cant fault at all had great 3 days me and my son will stay their again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Family run hotel, very friendly couldn't do enough for us, lovely service ,nice breakfast , great value for money ,bit of a walk to beach, only bad point smelt of dog and some areas in room dusty and cobwebs . But would stay hear again had a great holiday , wouldn't recommend for people who can't walk as a big up hill walk from beach to hotel but we didn't mind as it walked the calories off!

Room Tip: Family room was great for space had two rooms one extra one for kids but areas un clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundholm, Owner at Hotel Iona Torquay, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments of your review but find the negative aspects of your review confusing. however you say you will come back and stay with us again and we would be happy to welcome you. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Just be aware that The Iona is a very basic 2*guest house and not a 4*hotel as they advertise themself on Booking.com. This is probably a nice guest house but not even near to 4*standards. We booked The Iona based on their advert on Booking.com and were terribly disappointed when we arrived. We had to check out 30 min after we had checked in as we just could not stay there. It did not meet our expectations at all. We had to pay cancellation fee which was 75%(3 nights) of the whole booking. We were very polite and did not reveal our true reason for leaving to the hotel's owner as we did not want to upset him. We kindly asked him whether he would accept cancellation fee for one night. However, his attitude was very dismissive and unpleasant and we left after paying the whole amount.
It took us 8 months to get our money back. Eventually we have received a full refund from our bank under Section 75 and are very pleased about it.
We stayed in a wonderful 4* hotel just cross the road for the same price we paid for Iona!
Sorry but we would not recommend The Iona to anyone.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iona Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iona Torquay

Address: 5 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iona Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old part of Torquay, Hotel Iona offers quality accommodation in a central location, close to the main town, sea front and the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre. This comfortable and friendly small hotel is set in a beautifully converted detached Victorian villa built in the 1860s, located in a quiet conservation area of Torquay`s main hotel and bed and breakfast accommodation area. As a family run hotel we take pride in offering our guests traditional standards of service and individual attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Iona Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iona Torquay Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iona Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.