We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“. . . The Top Hotel in Torquay! . . . Highly recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsholm Hotel to your Saves list
Kingsholm Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“. . . The Top Hotel in Torquay! . . . Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Kingsholm Hotel . . . What to say about this Hotel?? . . . If you are thinking of visiting Torquay this year . . . book your stay at The Kingsholm. You will not be disappointed. You will be made to feel welcome the moment you press the Doorbell!! . . . Our room was lovely. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional (didn't feel the need to eat until later in the day . . . very much later)!! You will be within a short walk of The Harbour, Restaurants, Amusements, Pubs. Although a short walk . . . Its a very quiet location. June and Carl are lovely people, very friendly, easy going with a good family atmosphere. We DEFINATELY recommend you stay here as we will DEFINATELY be going back!!

James and Dawn

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
297
31
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dudley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

me and my husband have just returned from a great 3 night relaxing break at the Kingsholm. made to feel really welcome the hosts were great. The room was lovely very comfortable with all the facilities needed and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are excellent the best we have had at a B &B. would highly recommend you go and stay at the Kingsholm, real value for money you will not be disappointed. Also within walking distance of lots of pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Kingsholm hotel and our stay was excellent. The accommodation is comfortable and everything is spotless. June and Carl are exceptional hosts and made my partners 50th birthday a memorable occasion. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going well into the day. The location is close to the town and harbour so no need to use the car. We would like to thank June and Carl for a fantastic break and we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The attention to detail with the food, service and room facilities was way beyond our expectations. We look forward to staying with June and Carl again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

All together great value and a great experience. Carl & June did all they could to please & were the perfect hosts. The location is ideal, we did not need to use the car all the time we were there. We definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleetwood
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stopped for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed my visit to the Kingsholm. What better way to start the day than to have a top breakfast before heading out to for the day. Carl and June are the perfect hosts and clearly pride themselves on offering a flawless ' home from home' for all their visitors.....and what's more, it's quiet, yet only a short walk from all the amenities and tourist trapping's Torquay offers.

Room Tip: As a solo travellers had room number 6 at the back on the second floor, suited me fine.Didnt see a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Everything I needed and more for a reasonable price with a suitable parking location for the touring motorcycle
Staff helpful and warm in their welcome. Location central and accessible to everything I needed

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsholm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.