We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, lovely hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsholm Hotel to your Saves list
Kingsholm Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely people, lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

From the minute we arrived we were made to feel like friends of the family. What a lovely couple June and Carl are. Nothing was too much trouble and the parking system is excellent. This is definitely the only hotel we will be staying at whenever we visit Torquay.

Room Tip: All rooms are bright, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
297
31
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Despite the fact that we only stayed for one night, we were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. It is like being welcomed into June and Carl's home. Facilities were very good and room was immaculate. Breakfast was very good with a good variety too.
The Kingsholm is only a short walk to the town centre and quay so, ideally located for most things and there are many restaurants close by.
We would definitely stay here again and would therefore give our recommendation.
Angela & Richard

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We needed a place for one night and after reading the many positive reviews for The Kingsholm we decided this was the place for us. We were not disappointed, we received a friendly welcome, the room was immaculate and comfortable. The car park was a fair distance but with the central location we had we did not to use the car whilst we were there. We were greeted warmly at breakfast and the food was good. Would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great little B&B run by a lovely couple. Our first night as a little noisy with a couple in the room next to us arguing but after speaking to the owners the next morning we got moved to a better room so problem solved. The breakfast was also great. Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Recently spent a one night stay here and I can't think of one bad thing to say about the place. It's run by a lovely couple, June and Carl, who've worked wonders on the place over the last three years since they've been in residence. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. Every room is very tastefully decorated and my bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and served in the attractive dining room. Nothing was too much trouble. Endless tea and coffee fill ups. The rest of the gang of us from the Sheffield, who were staying there that night, were able to gather in the pleasant comfortable lounge area and enjoy a drink from the bar. Highly recommend the place. Hopefully, I'll be staying there again, next November!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A group of us stayed for one night and we found our hosts most welcoming, the hotel spotlessly clean and breakfast was excellent. We would certainly return on future occasions and would recommend Kingsholm unreservedly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the hotel. June and Carl were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is spotless and we could not fault anything. The breakfast was outstanding and always fresh and hot. Ideal location and free parking, which is an asset in Torquay. Please don't change what you do, truly outstanding. Would not stay anywhere else if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsholm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.