We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kingsholm Hotel to your Saves list
Kingsholm Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleethorpes
2 reviews
“July 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed for 6 days, nice room at the front of the hotel on the top floor, excellent views from the window, as it was hot I had to leave the window open but not too noisy, road is quieter than expected,so don't need to worry about that! All the furnishings look to be new or nearly new and well worth the little extras paid over the hotels I usually stay at further away. Hotel is 5 minutes walk away from the Marina, downhill, so you only need to worry about the walk back! The car park was secure too so one less thing to worry about! Nice breakfasts that will set you up for the day, would have been nice to have had a fan and a way to keep drinks cool in the room, but I only thought that because of the weather. Thanks Carl and June for being great hosts, and one last thing, take note of the mail they send telling you where to park, it's really useful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    36
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
326
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Carl & June were very friendly and the hotel is close to harbour 5 min walk. Once at the harbour you can easily get a ferry or bus or train to most parts of Devon and the service is 1st class. We would very much recommend this hotel and is very worthy of its 4 star rating ( great breakfast ). We wish you all the best Bill & Jan ( Milton Keynes )

Room Tip: Room 3 The bed so comfortable you have trouble getting out of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Overall this was a lovely property situated in close proximity to Torquay centre with easy access to all there is to see in the area.

To get to the point, the cooked breakfast was good but there wasn't the variety of other things one would expect such as prunes, grapefruit, apparently these things were available but only upon request and I never saw anyone consuming these. It would have been nice if these were left with the cereals so that people can help themselves. No spreads offered for toast only butter.

Niggly things that could have been improved was what looked like a quick paint job around the window frames which wasn't finished off i.e. paint still smudged on the glass around the frames, just made what looked a beautiful room a little below average.

Overall though, very good value for money and I would recommend this hotel, the hosts are lovely and very helpful but not "in your face" They will be there if there is anything you need. Very clean and tidy and would stay again!

Thank you Carl & June.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sileby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just returned from a week long holiday staying at the Kingsholm. Our stay was faultless from the rooms, to the outstanding breakfasts, to the little touches throughout this small hotel. Carl and June are the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail along with their friendly ways were outstanding. We will definitely be using this hotel again and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our first stay at the Kingsholm enjoying glorious weather in beautiful Torquay. Carl & June are the perfect hosts, nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and we were made to feel very special in our all too brief stay. We could not fault the cleanliness and modern standard of our room and will certainly stay again when we visit the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the park at the front of the hotel which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just enjoyed a fabulous 4 night stay at the Kingsholm, we were greeted with a pot of tea after a 5 hour drive in the blistering heat. From the first to the last day we were made to feel very welcome from Carl & June, they couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was absolutely exquisite. the rooms were 5 star rating very clean and tidy and the décor was very clean and fresh. Ideal location for what we wanted. We will definitely be returning to the Kingsholm guest house in the near future.

Karl & Vicky

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sailing in Torbay for 4 day event and Carl and June were really helpful making me early breakfasts etc. Great location for RTSC, just a walk down the hill and along the front, didn't need the car at all.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsholm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.