We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandpiper Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sandpiper Guest House to your Saves list
The Sandpiper Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great value B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We Were made very welcome at the Sandpiper, with a restaurant recommendation that was very useful.Our room was in the attic and small with the bathroom across the corridor, (unfortunately I couldn't lock the door which was slightly unnerving even though it was for our use only). Comfortable beds and a good TV made our stay feel homely.
Breakfast was great, a lovely choice of fruit and every need was catered for. A half hour slot for breakfast was fine for us but might not suit everyone.
I think the price was very reasonable and very well located for the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
64
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a superb 5 days staying at the sandpiper it's wonderfully run, Russell & Helen go the extra mile to ensure you have a relaxing stay.
The Sandpiper is perfect for families and location wise only a short walk to the front & close to the Abbey you couldn't ask for anything more.
Breakfast is superb I had a fry up everyday, although there are plenty of cereals, fruit etc. to choose from also if you fancy a healthy option.
The bar is cheaply priced and is a nice place to sit and relax if like us you can't go out due to having small children.
Rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated the cleanliness is faultless & the beds are so comfortable you'll sleep like a log.
To sum up: perfect hosts, excellent location, excellent food & Torquay is gorgeous we didn't want to leave. We will be back next year without fail.

Room Tip: No 5 is superb - great view too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We shortlisted this guesthouse using trip advisor and, as my wife has a disability, confirmed that there was a room available on the ground floor. (a rare find)

This is a lovely family-run guesthouse with 10 rooms.

We were in room 1 (front) on the ground floor, the room was relatively small and although could not be considered wheelchair accessible was adequate for our needs.

The room was well equipped, had a comfy bed, was spotlessly clean and had an on suite shower room.

Dogs are permitted but we only experienced minor disturbance and if dogs have been in our room previously there was no discernible evidence. Some mornings service vehicles disturbed us as well as some early leavers who tend to forget to close car doors quietly.

Breakfast is very good ranging from delicious fruit as well as porridge, yoghurt, cereals, full English and a fish option etc.

Bar food & drinks are available, which we enjoyed out in the garden (could eat inside) are very acceptable and not overpriced.

We noted that the railway station was very close when we walked to the beach and town centre (When I say walked, I mean ran after the mobility scooter).

There was parking to the front although & although we had to park on the road on a couple of occasions there are no parking restrictions so no problem.

Russell, Helen & Staff ;) are the perfect friendly hosts and having taken advantage of the 4 for 3 offer our stay represented real value for money.

We commend this Guest House to our readers.

Room Tip: Room 1 ground floor front can suffer with occasional noise from early morning service vehicles and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a wonderful family-run guesthouse. The rooms are well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is a real treat with lots of delicious fresh fruit to choose from as well as yoghurt, cereals and cooked breakfasts. It is within easy reach of the railway station, beach and town centre. We have stayed here before and are already planning to come again next year. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Another fantastic stay with Russell and Helen, the perfect hosts who can't do enough for you. Breakfast choice fantastic, guest house spotlessly clean and well located. Thanks once again for a great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Chose the Sandpiper because it seemed reasonably priced compared to some other places. The place has a homely feel and the people who work there are lovely. We stayed in room 2 which was perfectly sized for a 1 night stay, and it was immaculately clean, which is the most important thing in my opinion! Great shower, also another bonus! Breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from, especially as it was included in the price. If I stay in Torquay again I'd definitely book here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our dog whilst walking the Coast Path. We were welcomed & shown around the guest house by very friendly dog-loving owners, Russell & Helen. Our downstairs room was tiny, nowhere to put cases out of the way, but we managed. Everything we needed was there. The whole place was reassuringly clean & neat.
We had a very reasonably priced bar meal & drinks out in the garden chatting to the owners, their lovely children, Adam & Laura & dogs, & other guests. Breakfast was good, with options of smoked salmon & scrambled egg, kippers, smoked haddock & poached egg as well as a traditional Full English & also fresh fruit, juices, cereals etc.
The location was quiet, just a short walk to the beach, centre & harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Guest House

Address: Rowdens Road, Torquay TQ2 5AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandpiper Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sandpiper Guest house, set in a peaceful tree lined cul-de-sac just a short walk away from the Riviera international Centre, Torre Abbey Gardens and the seafront. We offer quality accommodation in a relaxed, informal and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Guest House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandpiper Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.